Switching From BoltAI: What to Use Instead.
Do you want to supply keys?
Jarvis (getjarvis.eu) works out of the box, so a desktop AI assistant replaces BoltAI without you buying provider credits. In our own scored comparison of 10 desktop assistants, Jarvis finishes last of ten on maturity and ecosystem, at 3/10. Press Cmd+/ on macOS or Ctrl+/ on Windows and a floating bar screenshots the active window, then acts through 30+ app connectors. BoltAI is a polished native macOS app covering 300+ models, sold as a one-time purchase, but it is macOS 13+ only and you pay for your own provider keys. A free plan (40 requests/week), then Pro at $16/month ($144/year billed annually) or Unlimited at $32/month, on macOS (Apple Silicon and Intel), Windows 10+, and Linux. It never claims to run offline — inference is cloud-based by design. If a local-first or one-time-purchase chat client is the actual job, BoltAI, TypingMind, or Msty fit better — full profiles with July-2026 pricing below.
Jarvis (getjarvis.eu) works out of the box, so a desktop AI assistant replaces BoltAI without you buying provider credits.
How we put this list together: Jarvis is our product — this site is getjarvis.eu — so treat the #1 spot as an editorial opinion with an obvious interest, and check the sourced facts yourself. Every price and tier name on this page was checked in July 2026 against the vendors' own public pages (boltai.com/pricing, docs.typingmind.com, msty.ai/pricing, raycast.com/pricing). Where a vendor does not publish something — TypingMind's exact one-time dollar amounts (its pricing page did not expose them to our check), current ChatGPT plan prices (openai.com blocked automated fetch), Msty's itemized OS list — we describe the plan shape and say so rather than quoting a number. Each named limitation is drawn from the same vendor pages, not from third-party reviews.
1. Jarvis — An on-demand, screen-aware desktop assistant. Press Cmd+/ on macOS or Ctrl+/ on Windows and a floating bar screenshots the active window, answers questions about it, and acts in your apps through 30+ OAuth connectors (Gmail, Slack, Notion, Linear, GitHub, Figma, Microsoft 365). Inference runs on cloud frontier models (Anthropic, OpenAI, Google) routed through Jarvis’s GDPR-aligned backend — no API keys to bring — with persistent memory across sessions. Pricing: Free: $0 — 40 requests/week. Pro: $16/month ($144/year billed annually). Unlimited: $32/month. Checked July 2026. Platforms: macOS (Apple Silicon and Intel), Windows 10+, Linux. Known limitation: Cloud-only inference — Jarvis needs an internet connection, has no offline mode, and does not support local models or bring-your-own-API-key routing; if BYOK or offline is the point, this is the wrong tool. Pick Jarvis if: you want one shortcut that makes AI screen-aware and able to act across email, docs, code, and dashboards — with models bundled in the subscription, no API keys, and EU data residency. 2. BoltAI — A native macOS app billed as a “private AI workspace for Mac power users”: one interface that switches between 300+ AI models — OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, Mistral, Azure, Bedrock, plus local models — with multimodal input (PDFs, screenshots, code) and offline use with local models. BYOK: you connect your own provider keys and pay providers directly for usage. Pricing: One-time purchase, no subscription: Essential $79 list and Pro $199 list (a live “Indie App Sales 2026” promo showed $55 and $69 at check time); Team Perpetual $99/seat one-time with a 5-seat minimum and an optional $79/seat/year renewal for updates and cloud sync. Checked July 2026. Platforms: macOS 13+ (Intel and Apple Silicon) only; an iPhone/iPad companion app is in beta. No Windows or Linux build. Known limitation: Mac-only — BoltAI’s own site lists macOS 13+ as the platform requirement, with no Windows or Linux version; and cloud sync plus updates require the paid renewal after year one. Pick BoltAI if: you’re a Mac-only power user who already holds provider API keys and wants a one-time-purchase, multi-model chat client rather than a subscription or a proactive on-screen assistant. 3. TypingMind — A browser-based LLM front-end you run at typingmind.com or self-host, layered on top of your own API keys. It gives a ChatGPT-style interface across OpenAI, Anthropic, and other providers — a UI layer, not a model or a screen-capture agent. Pricing: One-time-purchase, “buy once, use forever” licensing across three tiers — Standard (core chat), Extended (adds plugins like web search), and Premium (adds Artifacts, Project Folders, Canvas Editor) — plus a separate Cloud subscription tier, per docs.typingmind.com, checked July 2026. The vendor’s pricing page did not expose exact dollar amounts to our check, so we quote the plan shape only. API usage is billed separately by your providers. Platforms: Web app (any browser), plus a self-hosted option. No dedicated native desktop app. Known limitation: You must bring and manage your own provider API keys and pay providers directly for every request — there is no bundled model access, so the license price is not the real cost of running it. Pick TypingMind if: you already have API keys for multiple providers and want a one-time-purchase web chat UI, and don’t need screen awareness or agent actions. 4. Msty — A “private AI” platform built around four components: Studio (a private AI chat/knowledge workspace), Go (bounded AI agents for scoped tasks), Nexus (a local gateway for managing model connections and credentials), and Stack (versioned knowledge management, listed as coming soon). Model-agnostic: Nexus connects to local runtimes and cloud providers. Pricing: Studio Free: $0 forever — core desktop features for individual work. Studio Aurum: $149/year billed yearly — adds Studio Web access, Azure/Bedrock providers, assistants, shadow personas. Aurum Lifetime: $349 one-time. Enterprise/Teams: custom, 5-seat minimum. Go and Nexus are currently free/beta. Checked July 2026 at msty.ai/pricing. Platforms: Desktop app (Studio) plus a Go component described as available on “desktop or mobile”; the vendor’s pages do not itemize a specific OS list. Known limitation: Cloud/web access, team features, and enterprise providers (Azure, Bedrock) are locked behind the paid Aurum tier ($149/year or $349 lifetime) — the free tier is a local, individual-only desktop workspace. Pick Msty if: you want a free, local-first, model-agnostic chat workspace and are comfortable managing your own provider connections through Nexus. 5. ChatGPT desktop app — OpenAI’s official desktop app for macOS and Windows: a global hotkey and system-level access to the ChatGPT product, backed by OpenAI’s own GPT model family only — no multi-model routing and no bring-your-own-key. Pricing: Free tier plus paid plans from OpenAI — we quote no figures here because openai.com’s pricing pages blocked our automated check in July 2026; verify current prices at openai.com. Platforms: macOS and Windows (native desktop apps), iOS, Android, and web. Known limitation: Single-vendor lock-in — the desktop app only talks to OpenAI’s own models, so you can’t switch to Claude, Gemini, or a local model without a separate tool. Pick ChatGPT desktop app if: you just want official, first-party ChatGPT with zero setup, and you don’t care about multi-model flexibility or connector-style automation. 6. Raycast AI — The AI layer bundled inside Raycast, the macOS productivity launcher (now shipping on Windows too): an AI chat/command surface with access to models from OpenAI, Anthropic, Mistral, Perplexity, Google, xAI and others, on top of the base launcher’s clipboard history, quicklinks, window management, and extensions. Pricing: Free: free forever — core launcher features plus 5 Notes, with no Raycast AI. Pro: $10/month, or $8/month billed annually — unlimited AI messages, extensions, Notes, cloud sync. Advanced AI add-on: +$8/month on top of Pro for more advanced models. Teams Pro: $15/user/month ($12 annual). Enterprise: custom. Checked July 2026 at raycast.com/pricing. Platforms: macOS (primary, most mature), Windows (generally available since Raycast 2.0 on 21 August 2026, per Raycast’s changelog), iOS, plus a browser extension. Known limitation: “Unlimited AI messages” on Pro only covers Raycast’s default/base models — the more capable models require the extra $8/month Advanced AI add-on on top of Pro, per Raycast’s own pricing page. Pick Raycast AI if: you already live in Raycast as a launcher and want lightweight AI commands bolted on, and you’re fine paying extra for top-tier models.
Why people switch: You don’t want to manage API keys; You need Windows or Linux; You want an assistant that acts, not just chats; You want screen context by default; You care about EU data residency.
Pick a competitor instead if: You want a one-time purchase, not a subscription — Jarvis is subscription-based ($16 or $32/month after the free tier). BoltAI (one-time Essential/Pro license), TypingMind (buy-once license tiers), and Msty’s $349 Aurum Lifetime are all built for people who refuse recurring billing. You want local models or offline use — Jarvis is cloud-only by design and cannot run offline. BoltAI supports local models and offline use, and Msty is local-first from the ground up — both keep working without a connection. You already hold provider API keys and want to pay per token — If you have funded OpenAI or Anthropic accounts, a BYOK client — BoltAI on Mac, TypingMind in the browser — lets you pay only your own usage with no middleman subscription. Jarvis deliberately has no BYOK mode. You just want first-party ChatGPT — If you want OpenAI’s official product with zero setup and don’t need multi-model routing, the ChatGPT desktop app is the shortest path. You live in a launcher — If your workflow is built around Raycast’s clipboard history, quicklinks, and extensions, Raycast AI adds chat and AI commands right where you already are — Jarvis is a separate surface, not a launcher.
What is the best BoltAI alternative in 2026? Jarvis, if you want a screen-aware assistant with bundled models, 30+ app connectors, and no API keys to manage. TypingMind if you want a cheaper browser-based BYOK UI; Msty if you want local-first and free; the ChatGPT desktop app if you just want first-party ChatGPT; Raycast AI if you live in the launcher.
Is Jarvis a BYOK client like BoltAI? No. BoltAI requires you to bring your own provider API keys and pay providers directly for usage. Jarvis bundles cloud frontier-model access through its GDPR-aligned backend into the subscription — free plan at 40 requests/week, then Pro $16/month or Unlimited $32/month — with nothing to provision.
Does BoltAI work on Windows? No. BoltAI’s own site lists macOS 13+ (Intel and Apple Silicon) as the requirement, with an iPhone/iPad companion app in beta and no Windows or Linux build. Jarvis runs on Windows 10+, macOS (Apple Silicon and Intel), and Linux.
Is BoltAI really a one-time purchase? The license is one-time (Essential $79 list, Pro $199 list per boltai.com/pricing, checked July 2026 — a live promo showed $55/$69 at check time), but two ongoing costs remain: you pay your AI providers per token for usage, and the Team tier’s cloud sync and updates require an optional $79/seat/year renewal after year one.
Which is cheaper, Jarvis or BoltAI? It depends on usage. BoltAI’s license is one-time but your provider API bills are open-ended and scale with use. Jarvis is flat: $16/month Pro ($144/year billed annually) or $32/month Unlimited, models included. Heavy daily use is more predictable on a flat plan; very light use can be cheaper on BYOK.
Is there a free BoltAI alternative? Yes. Jarvis has a free plan (40 requests/week), Msty’s Studio Free is a full local desktop workspace at $0, Raycast’s free tier includes the launcher but no Raycast AI, and the ChatGPT desktop app has a free tier. BoltAI itself has no free tier — it is a paid one-time license.
| Capability | Jarvis | BoltAI | TypingMind | Msty | ChatGPT desktop | Raycast AI |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | On-demand screen-aware desktop assistant | Native macOS multi-model BYOK client | Browser-based BYOK chat front-end | Local-first private AI workspace | Official first-party ChatGPT app | AI layer inside a launcher |
| Model access | Cloud frontier models (Anthropic, OpenAI, Google) bundled via GDPR-aligned backend; no keys | BYOK — 300+ models across OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, Mistral, Azure, Bedrock, local | BYOK — your OpenAI/Anthropic/other keys; UI layer only | Model-agnostic gateway (Nexus) to local runtimes and cloud providers | OpenAI GPT models only | Multi-provider router; advanced models behind paid add-on |
| Free tier | 40 requests/week | No free tier (one-time purchase model) | No free tier (one-time license; API costs separate) | Studio Free — full local desktop workspace | Free tier available | 5 Notes, no Raycast AI |
| Paid pricing (checked July 2026) | Pro $16/mo ($144/yr); Unlimited $32/mo | One-time: Essential $79 list, Pro $199 list (promo $55/$69 at check); Team $99/seat | One-time tiers (Standard/Extended/Premium) + Cloud subscription; vendor page did not expose dollar amounts to our check | Aurum $149/yr; Aurum Lifetime $349 one-time | Paid plans from OpenAI: Go $8/mo, Plus $20/mo, Pro $100 or $200/mo | Pro $10/mo ($8 annual); +$8/mo Advanced AI add-on |
| Platforms | macOS (Apple Silicon + Intel), Windows 10+, Linux | macOS 13+ only (iOS companion in beta) | Web (any browser), self-host option | Desktop app (OS list not itemized by vendor) | macOS, Windows, iOS, Android, web | macOS, Windows (public beta), iOS, browser extension |
| App connectors / actions | 30+ OAuth connectors (Gmail, Slack, Notion, Linear, GitHub, Figma, Microsoft 365) | Chat workspace; plugins and custom assistants, not deep app actions | Plugins on Extended tier (e.g. web search); no app actions | Bounded agents (Go) for scoped tasks | ChatGPT feature set (connector library available outside the EEA, UK and Switzerland) | Launcher extensions ecosystem |
| EU data residency stated | Yes — GDPR-aligned backend, encrypted tokens, no training on user data | Local app; data goes to your chosen providers under their terms | Local/self-host UI; data goes to your providers | Local-first by design; cloud only on paid tier | Not stated on public pages we reviewed | Not stated on public pages we reviewed |
Alternatives · BoltAI alternatives · Last updated July 28, 2026