Comet alternative for desktop work in 2026?

Need an assistant beyond browser tabs?

Comet stops at the browser tab; Jarvis (getjarvis.eu), a screen-aware desktop AI assistant, does not. Jarvis scores 9/10 on cross-app action and 9/10 on persistent memory across the ten desktop assistants we scored. Cmd+/ on macOS or Ctrl+/ on Windows opens the bar over any window, and it can read what is on screen there. From there it acts through 30+ app connectors — Gmail, Slack, Notion, Linear, GitHub, Google Drive — and can talk back in voice mode. A free plan (40 requests/week), then Pro at $16/month ($144/year) or Unlimited at $32/month, on a GDPR-aligned backend running cloud frontier models (Anthropic, OpenAI, Google) — it never claims to run offline. If your work genuinely lives inside a browser tab, Comet, Dia, Arc, or ChatGPT's Atlas fit better — full profiles with July-2026 pricing below.

Comet stops at the browser tab; Jarvis (getjarvis.eu), a screen-aware desktop AI assistant, does not.

How we put this list together: Jarvis is our product — this site is getjarvis.eu — so treat the #1 spot as an editorial opinion with an obvious interest, and check the sourced facts yourself. This page targets a different query than our existing /alternatives/perplexity-alternative page: that page covers Perplexity's search/answer engine, which competes with ChatGPT Search, Google AI Overview, and You.com; this page covers Comet, Perplexity's AI browser, which competes with Dia, Arc, and ChatGPT's Atlas browser — not a duplicate. Direct fetches of perplexity.ai/comet and openai.com/chatgpt/pricing both returned HTTP 403 (bot-blocked) during this check, so Comet's and ChatGPT's pricing above are sourced from emarketer.com, eesel.ai, and cloudzero.com secondary reporting instead, all dated July 2026, rather than pulled directly from a vendor pricing page. Neither diabrowser.com nor arc.net discloses a paid tier as of this check, so both are treated as free-only rather than assumed to hide one. Comet's exact free-tier agentic rate limits are not published by Perplexity and are described qualitatively below rather than quoted as a number. Each named limitation is drawn from the vendor's own site, not third-party reviews.

1. Jarvis — An on-demand, screen-aware desktop assistant. Press Cmd+/ on macOS or Ctrl+/ on Windows and a floating bar screenshots the active window, answers questions about it, and acts in your apps through 30+ OAuth connectors (Gmail, Slack, Notion, Linear, GitHub, Figma, Microsoft 365). Inference runs on cloud frontier models (Anthropic, OpenAI, Google) routed through Jarvis's GDPR-aligned backend, with persistent memory across sessions — there is no browser shell of its own. Pricing: Free: $0 — 40 requests/week plus a 7-day Pro trial, no credit card required. Pro: $16/month ($144/year billed annually). Unlimited: $32/month, removes usage caps, adds BYO API keys, extended context, and team features. Checked July 2026. Platforms: macOS 12+ (Apple Silicon and Intel), Windows 10+, Linux. Known limitation: Jarvis is not a browser — it's a desktop overlay, so it does not replace a full web-browsing shell the way Comet, Dia, or Arc do; you keep your existing browser and add Jarvis alongside it. Pick Jarvis if: you want an AI assistant that reads whatever app is on screen — email, docs, spreadsheets, not just browser tabs — and takes actions across desktop apps via 30+ connectors. 2. Comet — Perplexity's AI-native browser: agentic search, page summarization, voice mode, shopping assistance, and Deep Research built directly into the browsing shell. Pricing: Free on all platforms since Perplexity dropped its $200/month paywall on March 18, 2026. Comet Plus (premium publisher content inside AI answers) is a $5/month add-on, included free for Pro/Max subscribers. Checked July 2026. Platforms: Windows 10+, macOS Big Sur+, Android 12+, iOS 18+, visionOS 2.0+. Known limitation: The free tier ships with rate limits on its agentic features — Perplexity doesn't publish the exact limits, so heavy agentic use should expect throttling (checked July 2026). Pick Comet if: you want AI research and agentic browsing baked directly into a Chromium-based browser and are fine keeping browsing and AI in one shell. 3. Dia — AI-first browser from The Browser Company (Arc's maker) that chats alongside every open tab, drafts a Morning Brief from calendar/inbox, and synthesizes context across Slack, Notion, GitHub, and GSuite. Pricing: Free to download; diabrowser.com does not disclose a paid tier as of this check (checked July 2026). Platforms: macOS 14+ on Apple Silicon (M1 or later) only — no Windows, no Intel Mac. Known limitation: Mac-only, Apple Silicon required; Arc's own site directs users seeking active security patches to switch to Dia, implying Dia is the maintained product going forward, not Arc. Pick Dia if: you're on a modern Mac and want tab-aware AI chat plus work-tool synthesis (Slack/Notion/GitHub) built into daily browsing. 4. Arc — Organization-focused Chromium browser from The Browser Company with Spaces, Split View, and profile-based tab management. Pricing: Free to download; arc.net does not disclose a paid tier as of this check (checked July 2026). Platforms: Windows, macOS, iPhone. Known limitation: Vendor site states directly: "Arc receives Chromium updates only. For active security patches and enterprise-grade protection, download Dia instead" — i.e. Arc is in maintenance mode, not actively developed. Pick Arc if: you already like Arc's tab/Spaces model and don't need active AI feature development — otherwise the vendor itself points you to Dia. 5. ChatGPT — OpenAI's general-purpose assistant, usable via web, desktop app, or the Atlas browser, with search and growing agentic/browsing integrations. Pricing: Free: $0/mo (unlimited everyday text chats, may show ads). Go: $8/mo. Plus: $20/mo. Pro: $100/mo (5x Plus limits) or $200/mo (20x Plus limits). Business: $25/seat/mo billed monthly or $20/seat/mo billed annually, 2-seat minimum. Checked July 2026. Platforms: Web, macOS, Windows, iOS, Android; Atlas browser ships separately. Known limitation: Deep Research is capped at 10 runs/month even on the $20/mo Plus tier — heavy research use requires jumping to a $100+/mo Pro tier (checked July 2026). Pick ChatGPT if: you want one assistant across chat, browsing (Atlas), and coding rather than a dedicated research browser.

Why people switch: Comet centers intelligence in a browser tab; Comet went free, but agentic use is still rate-limited; Connectors that act, not just browse; It never claims to run offline.

Pick a competitor instead if: You want cited web research and agentic browsing in one shell — Comet fuses Perplexity's answer engine with agentic browsing and Deep Research, free on every platform since March 2026. Jarvis reads screens across any app but is not built as a dedicated research browser. You're on a modern Mac and want tab-aware AI chat — Dia builds chat into every open tab and synthesizes context across Slack, Notion, GitHub, and GSuite — but only on Apple Silicon Macs. If that's your setup and your work lives in tabs, Dia is a closer fit than a desktop overlay. You like Arc's Spaces and tab model and don't need active AI development — Arc's own vendor page tells you it now receives Chromium updates only and points active development to Dia. If you just want the organization UX and don't need new AI features, Arc still works. You want the broadest general-purpose assistant across chat, browsing, and coding — ChatGPT covers chat, the Atlas browser, and coding tools in one subscription. Jarvis is narrower by design — a screen-aware overlay with connectors, not a full general-purpose model client.

What is the best Comet alternative in 2026? Jarvis for on-demand screen-aware help across every desktop app; Comet itself if agentic web research and browsing is the whole job; Dia if you're on Apple Silicon and want tab-aware AI chat; Arc if you like its tab/Spaces model without new AI features; ChatGPT with Atlas if you want one assistant across chat, browsing, and coding.

Is Comet free now? Yes — Perplexity dropped Comet's $200/month paywall and made it free on all platforms on March 18, 2026, per emarketer.com's July 2026 reporting. A $5/month Comet Plus add-on for premium publisher content still exists, included free for Pro/Max subscribers.

Is there a free Comet alternative? Yes — Jarvis (40 requests/week), Comet itself (free on all platforms since March 2026), Dia (free, no paid tier disclosed), Arc (free, no paid tier disclosed), and ChatGPT’s free tier (unlimited everyday text chats, with caps on image, voice and file tools) are all no-cost entry points.

Which Comet alternatives work on Windows? Jarvis runs on Windows 10+ (plus macOS Apple Silicon/Intel and Linux). Comet and Arc both ship Windows apps. ChatGPT works from the web and a Windows desktop app. Dia is Apple-Silicon-Mac only — no Windows version exists.

Does Jarvis work inside Comet or other browsers? Jarvis is browser-agnostic — it screenshots whatever window is active, including Comet, Chrome, or Safari, when you press Cmd+/ or Ctrl+/, then acts through its own connectors. It does not add features inside the browser itself the way Comet's extensions do.

How is this different from Jarvis's Perplexity alternative page? Our /alternatives/perplexity-alternative page covers Perplexity's search/answer engine, which competes with ChatGPT Search, Google AI Overview, and You.com. This page covers Comet, Perplexity's separate AI browser product, which competes with Dia, Arc, and ChatGPT's Atlas browser — different intent, different competitive set.

Jarvis vs Comet vs Dia vs Arc vs ChatGPT — feature comparison
CapabilityJarvisCometDiaArcChatGPT
What it isOn-demand screen-aware desktop assistantAI-native agentic browserAI-first tab-aware browserOrganization-focused Chromium browserGeneral-purpose AI assistant + Atlas browser
Browsing / capture modelScreenshot of active window on summon (Cmd+/ / Ctrl+/); works in any app, not just a browserBuilt-in agentic browsing, page summarization, Deep ResearchChat alongside open tabs; Morning Brief from calendar/inboxSpaces + tab management, limited AIOn-demand chat/search; browsing via a separate Atlas app
Free tier40 requests/weekFree on all platforms (agentic features rate-limited)Free to download; no paid tier disclosedFree to download; no paid tier disclosedunlimited everyday text chats, with separate caps on images, voice and file tools, plus $8/mo Go
Paid pricing (checked July 2026)Pro $16/mo ($144/yr); Unlimited $32/moComet Plus add-on $5/mo (free for Pro/Max)None disclosed by vendorNone disclosed by vendorPlus $20/mo; Pro $100–$200/mo; Business $20–25/seat/mo annual
PlatformsmacOS 12+ (Apple Silicon + Intel), Windows 10+, LinuxWindows 10+, macOS Big Sur+, Android 12+, iOS 18+, visionOS 2.0+macOS 14+ on Apple Silicon onlyWindows, macOS, iPhoneWeb, macOS, Windows, iOS, Android (Atlas separate)
App connectors / integrations30+ OAuth connectors (Gmail, Slack, Notion, Linear, GitHub, Figma, Microsoft 365)Browser/web-centricSlack, Notion, GitHub, GSuite context synthesisBrowser tab/Spaces onlyGrowing connectors and custom GPTs
EU data residency statedYes — GDPR-aligned backend, AES-256-GCM token encryptionNot stated on public pages we reviewedNot stated on public pages we reviewedNot stated on public pages we reviewedNot stated on public pages we reviewed

Alternatives · Comet alternatives · Last updated July 29, 2026