Best Dia Browser Alternative in 2026.

Best Dia Browser Alternative in 2026?

Jarvis (getjarvis.eu) is a screen-aware desktop AI assistant and Dia alternative that works across your machine, with 35 live app connectors. Dia, from The Browser Company (acquired by Atlassian in October 2025), weaves chat, tab-reading, and workflow integrations directly into browsing — a genuinely AI-native rebuild of the browser itself — but it ships macOS-only (Apple Silicon, no Windows build) and has published no pricing or plan tiers as of this check (July 2026). Jarvis is a different shape of product: a screen-aware desktop assistant for macOS (Apple Silicon and Intel), Windows 10+, and Linux that lives in a floating bar summoned with Cmd+/ (Ctrl+/ on Windows). It is not tied to a browser — it reads whatever is on your screen across any app, including any browser tab, and acts through 35 live app connectors covering Gmail, Slack, Notion, Linear, GitHub, and Microsoft 365. A free plan (40 requests/week), then Pro at $16/month or Unlimited at $32/month, on a cloud-based, GDPR-aligned backend — it never claims to run offline. If you want a genuinely free, cross-platform AI browser instead, Comet fits better; if privacy positioning matters as much as AI, Brave (Leo) is worth a look. Full profiles with July-2026 pricing below.

Jarvis (getjarvis.eu) is a screen-aware desktop AI assistant and Dia alternative that works across your machine, with 35 live app connectors.

How we put this list together: Jarvis is our product — this site is getjarvis.eu — so treat the #1 spot as an editorial opinion with an obvious interest, and check the sourced facts yourself. Every price and platform claim on this page was checked in July 2026 against the vendors' own public pages (diabrowser.com, arc.net, brave.com/leo, operaneon.com). Where a vendor's own pricing page returned a blocked or empty response on direct fetch, we say so and cite the third-party source used instead: Comet's free-worldwide pricing is corroborated via CNBC and TechRepublic's coverage of Perplexity's own announcement (perplexity.ai/comet itself 403'd on fetch), and Brave Leo Premium's $14.99/month and $149.99/year figures are corroborated via eesel.ai's pricing tracker (brave.com/pricing and account.brave.com/plans both returned blocked/empty responses). Arc's frozen-development status is sourced to techyorker.com and superchargebrowser.com, and Opera Neon's launch pricing to TechCrunch and Tom's Guide. Where a vendor does not publish something — Dia's monetization plan, the underlying AI models behind Dia and Comet, Opera Neon's exact platform list — we say so rather than quoting a number. ChatGPT was dropped from this list as a generic chat assistant rather than a browser, a weak fit for a browser-alternative query. ChatGPT Atlas was considered and rejected: OpenAI announced on July 9, 2026 that it is discontinuing Atlas as a standalone browser, targeted for August 9, 2026, folding it into the ChatGPT desktop app instead (per 9to5Mac, TechCrunch, and Search Engine Land) — too close to shutdown to recommend as a live Dia alternative.

1. Jarvis — An on-demand, screen-aware desktop assistant — not a browser. Press Cmd+/ on macOS or Ctrl+/ on Windows and a floating bar screenshots the active window, answers questions about it, and acts in your apps through 30+ OAuth connectors (Gmail, Slack, Notion, Linear, GitHub, Microsoft 365), inside any browser or app. Inference runs on cloud frontier models (Anthropic, OpenAI, Google) routed through Jarvis's GDPR-aligned backend, with persistent memory across sessions. Pricing: Free: $0 — 40 requests/week. Pro: $16/month ($144/year billed annually). Unlimited: $32/month. Checked July 2026. Platforms: macOS (Apple Silicon and Intel), Windows 10+, Linux. Known limitation: Jarvis is not a browser and has no built-in tab-reading UI the way Dia does — it reads whatever is on screen via screenshot when summoned, and because inference is cloud-based it never works offline. Pick Jarvis if: you want one shortcut that makes AI screen-aware across email, docs, code, and dashboards — not just your browser — with 30+ connectors and a real free tier. 2. Dia — AI-first browser from The Browser Company (acquired by Atlassian, Oct 2025) that builds chat, tab-reading, and workflow integrations (Slack, Notion, Calendar, GSuite, GitHub) directly into browsing. Pricing: No pricing or plan tiers published on the official site as of the check date — Dia appears to be free during this phase. Could not confirm whether a paid tier exists. Checked July 2026. Platforms: macOS 14+ on Apple Silicon (M1 or later) only. No Windows build. Known limitation: macOS-only with no shipped Windows build; parent company (Atlassian) has not published a monetization/pricing plan. Pick Dia if: you're on a Mac and want the most tightly AI-native rebuild of the browser itself, with native chat and workflow-app integrations. 3. Comet — Perplexity's agentic AI browser pairing answer-engine search with in-browser task execution (agentic search, page summarization, voice mode, shopping assistant, Deep Research). Pricing: Free — Perplexity made the core Comet browser free worldwide starting March 18, 2026 (previously a $200/month early-access product). An optional 'Comet Plus' add-on for premium publisher content is $5/month standalone, included free for Perplexity Pro/Max subscribers. Checked July 2026. Platforms: Windows, macOS, iOS, and Android — the only major AI browser with full cross-platform coverage. Known limitation: The vendor's own perplexity.ai/comet page returned a blocked response on direct fetch during this check (July 2026) — pricing figures here are corroborated via Perplexity's own press announcement as reported by CNBC and TechRepublic, not a directly re-fetched vendor pricing page. Pick Comet if: you want a genuinely free, cross-platform AI browser (including mobile) rather than a Mac-only one. 4. Arc — The Browser Company's earlier reimagined browser (Spaces, split view, tab/workspace management, light AI features called Arc Max) — the direct predecessor product to Dia from the same company. Pricing: Free to download and use; no subscription tier. Checked July 2026. Platforms: Windows, macOS, and iPhone. Known limitation: Development is frozen: The Browser Company stopped building new Arc features in May 2025 and pivoted the team to Dia. Arc still runs and receives Chromium security patches only — no new features, no announced sunset date. The vendor's own arc.net homepage now pushes visitors to 'download Dia instead.' Pick Arc if: you already depend on Arc's Spaces/tab workflow and don't need active AI development — but know you're on a maintenance-only product. 5. Brave (Leo) — Privacy-focused Chromium browser with Leo, a built-in AI assistant for summarizing pages, answering questions, and generating/translating content without leaving the tab. Pricing: Free tier available with no account required. Premium tier (more models, higher limits, faster responses) is $14.99/month or $149.99/year, covering up to 5 devices per subscription. Checked July 2026. Platforms: Desktop (macOS, Windows, Linux) and mobile (Android, iOS) — broadest platform coverage of any entry here alongside Comet. Known limitation: Brave's own pricing page (brave.com/pricing and account.brave.com/plans) could not be directly fetched during this check (blocked/empty response); the $14.99/mo and $149.99/yr figures are corroborated from third-party pricing trackers, not re-confirmed on Brave's own page at check time. Pick Brave (Leo) if: privacy (local chat history, no training on your conversations) matters as much as AI features, and you want it bundled into a browser you may already use. 6. Opera Neon — Opera's agentic AI browser — 'a browser built to act' — with multiple task-specific agents (research, document generation, agenda creation), cross-tab context, MCP/CLI tool integration, plus built-in ad blocking and VPN. Pricing: Paid subscription only: $19.90/month (reported at launch as $20/month). No free tier confirmed. The vendor page (operaneon.com) shows a 'Get Opera Neon' subscription button but does not itself list the price. Checked July 2026. Platforms: Availability details (OS support beyond desktop) not specified on the vendor homepage at check time; entered public early access in December 2025. Known limitation: It's the only entry in this pack that is exclusively paid, with no free tier — the vendor page does not disclose an exact platform list, so this is inferred as desktop-first from Opera's core product line. Pick Opera Neon if: you want one subscription that bundles several frontier models' agentic capabilities into daily browsing, and cost isn't the deciding factor.

Why people switch: AI everywhere, not just in one browser; You want a Windows build today; You want it to act, not just read tabs; You care about EU data residency.

Pick a competitor instead if: You want a genuinely free, cross-platform AI browser — Comet is free worldwide (since March 2026) and the only entry here with full Windows, macOS, iOS, and Android coverage — including mobile, which Dia and Arc don't offer. Privacy matters as much as AI features — Brave (Leo) is built around local chat history and no training on your conversations, bundled into a browser you may already use — a free tier is available with no account required. You already depend on Arc's Spaces/tab workflow — Arc still runs and receives Chromium security patches, so existing users can keep using it — just know development is frozen and The Browser Company's own site now pushes visitors to Dia instead. You want a subscription bundling multiple frontier models into browsing — Opera Neon packages several third-party models (reported: Gemini 3 Pro, GPT-5.1, Veo 3.1, Nano Banana Pro) into one $19.90/month plan, if cost isn't the deciding factor and there's no free tier to fall back on. You're Mac-only and want AI woven into the browser itself — Dia is the most tightly AI-native rebuild of the browser in this pack — chat, tab-reading, and workflow-app integrations built in — if you're on Apple Silicon and don't need a Windows build.

What is the best Dia browser alternative in 2026? Jarvis for AI that works across your whole desktop, not just a browser; Comet if you want a genuinely free, cross-platform AI browser including mobile; Brave (Leo) if privacy positioning matters as much as AI; Opera Neon if you want a premium subscription bundling multiple frontier models; Arc if you already use it and don't mind frozen development.

Is Dia browser free? Dia has no pricing or plan tiers published on its official site as of this check (July 2026) — it appears free during this phase, but we could not confirm whether a paid tier exists or is planned, since its parent company Atlassian has not published a monetization plan.

Does Dia work on Windows? No. Dia requires macOS 14+ on Apple Silicon (M1 or later) and has no shipped Windows build. Jarvis, Comet, Arc, and Brave (Leo) all run on Windows; Opera Neon's platform list beyond desktop isn't itemized by the vendor.

What happened to ChatGPT Atlas as a Dia alternative? OpenAI announced on July 9, 2026 that it is discontinuing Atlas as a standalone desktop browser, targeted for August 9, 2026, folding its features into the ChatGPT desktop app instead (per 9to5Mac, TechCrunch, and Search Engine Land). That's too close to shutdown to recommend as a live Dia alternative, so it's excluded from this list.

Is there a free AI browser alternative to Dia? Yes — Comet has been free worldwide since March 2026 (with an optional $5/month Comet Plus add-on), Arc is free with no subscription tier, and Brave (Leo) has a free tier with no account required. Opera Neon is the exception: it's paid-only with no confirmed free tier.

Does Jarvis replace my browser like Dia does? No — keep using whatever browser you like. Jarvis is not a browser; it's a Cmd+/ desktop assistant that reads whatever is on your screen, including inside any browser tab, and acts across 30+ connectors like Gmail, Notion, and GitHub.

Jarvis vs Dia vs Comet vs Arc vs Brave (Leo) vs Opera Neon — feature comparison
CapabilityJarvisDiaCometArcBrave (Leo)Opera Neon
What it isOn-demand screen-aware desktop assistantAI-first rebuilt browser (chat, tab-reading, workflow integrations)Perplexity's agentic AI browser (answer engine + task execution)Browser Company's earlier browser (Spaces, tabs, light AI) — frozen devPrivacy-focused Chromium browser with built-in Leo AI assistantOpera's agentic 'browser built to act' with task-specific AI agents
AI model / capabilityCloud frontier models (Anthropic, OpenAI, Google) via GDPR-aligned backendNot disclosed on vendor pageNot disclosed on vendor page (Sonar/model mix undisclosed)Lightweight built-in tooling (Arc Max), not a flagship modelNot disclosed on vendor page; multiple underlying models supportedBundles third-party frontier models (reported: Gemini 3 Pro, GPT-5.1, Veo 3.1, Nano Banana Pro)
Free tier40 requests/weekAppears free during this phase; no tiers publishedFree — core browser free worldwide since March 2026Free, no subscription tierFree, no account requiredNone confirmed
Paid pricing (checked July 2026)Pro $16/mo ($144/yr); Unlimited $32/moCould not confirm whether a paid tier existsCore free; optional Comet Plus $5/mo (free for Perplexity Pro/Max)None — free productPremium $14.99/mo or $149.99/yr (up to 5 devices)$19.90/mo; no free tier confirmed
PlatformsmacOS (Apple Silicon + Intel), Windows 10+, LinuxmacOS 14+ Apple Silicon only; no Windows buildWindows, macOS, iOS, AndroidWindows, macOS, iPhonemacOS, Windows, Linux, Android, iOSNot itemized by vendor; desktop-first inferred
Works across every app, not just the browserYes — any app on screenNo — inside the Dia browserNo — inside the Comet browserNo — inside the Arc browserNo — inside the Brave browserNo — inside the Opera Neon browser
Named limitationCloud-only inference — no offline modemacOS-only, no Windows build; no published pricing planVendor pricing page blocked on fetch; figures corroborated via press coverageDevelopment frozen since May 2025 — security patches only, no new featuresVendor pricing page blocked on fetch; premium price corroborated via third-party trackersPaid-only, no free tier; platform list not disclosed by vendor

Alternatives · Dia alternatives · Last updated July 28, 2026