Best Merlin alternative in 2026
Best Merlin alternative in 2026?
Jarvis (getjarvis.eu) is the best Merlin alternative in 2026 for people who want AI that works across the whole computer, not only inside the browser. Merlin is a Chrome-extension-first assistant: chat across bundled third-party models (Claude, GPT), page and video summaries, and writing tools, on a plan whose own pricing-page FAQ states it offers no direct API access and stores all user data in the United States (checked July 2026). For light, in-browser web help it is fast and model-flexible. Jarvis takes a different shape: press Cmd+/ on macOS or Ctrl+/ on Windows and a floating bar screenshots the active window — any native app, not just a browser tab — answers, and acts through 30+ OAuth connectors covering Gmail, Slack, Notion, Linear, GitHub, Figma, and Microsoft 365, with persistent memory across sessions. Inference runs on cloud frontier models (Anthropic, OpenAI, Google) routed through Jarvis's GDPR-aligned backend — it never claims to run offline. A free plan (40 requests/week), then Pro at $16/month ($144/year billed annually) or Unlimited at $32/month. If your work genuinely never leaves the browser tab, Merlin, Sider, or Monica fit better — full profiles with July-2026 pricing below.
Four Merlin alternatives profiled with pricing checked July 2026 — model access, platforms, tier names, one honest limitation each, and when Jarvis (getjarvis.eu) is the wrong pick.
How we put this list together: Jarvis is our product — this site is getjarvis.eu — so treat the #1 spot as an editorial opinion with an obvious interest, and check the sourced facts yourself. Every price and tier name on this page was checked in July 2026 against the vendors' own public pricing pages (getmerlin.in/pricing, sider.ai/pricing, sider.ai/download, monica.im/pricing, plus Perplexity's Help Center and Comet documentation). Where a vendor does not publish something as static, confirmable text, we say so instead of quoting a figure: Merlin's non-annual 'Pay monthly' Pro price only renders the annual-billing figure on its pricing-page toggle; Sider's pricing page shows no $0 plan card, so we describe that absence rather than guess at a hidden free tier; Perplexity's own pricing page was blocked by a Cloudflare bot-check on every fetch attempt during this check, so we report which tiers Perplexity itself confirms exist (via its Help Center) without stating a dollar figure we could not verify against the vendor page directly; and Monica's data-hosting location is undisclosed on monica.im/privacy, so we note only its Singapore headquarters per third-party company records, not a hosting claim. Each named limitation is a vendor's own stated wording, not a third-party review or an assumption.
1. Jarvis — An on-demand, screen-aware desktop assistant. Press Cmd+/ on macOS or Ctrl+/ on Windows and a floating bar screenshots the active window, answers questions about it, and acts in your apps through 30+ OAuth connectors (Gmail, Slack, Notion, Linear, GitHub, Figma, Microsoft 365). Inference runs on cloud frontier models (Anthropic, OpenAI, Google) routed through Jarvis's GDPR-aligned backend, with persistent memory across sessions — there is no browser extension involved, by design. Pricing: Free: $0 — 40 requests/week. Pro: $16/month ($144/year billed annually). Unlimited: $32/month. Checked July 2026. Platforms: macOS (Apple Silicon and Intel), Windows 10+, Linux. Known limitation: Cloud-only inference — Jarvis needs an internet connection and has no offline mode, and because it isn't a browser extension it doesn't do in-page tricks like Merlin's Chrome-embedded writing widgets. Pick Jarvis if: you want one shortcut that makes AI aware of your whole desktop — native apps, PDFs, code, dashboards, not just browser tabs — with a real free tier and connectors that take action. 2. Merlin — Multi-model AI assistant available as a Chrome extension, web chat, and iOS/Android apps — bundles access to third-party models (GPT, Claude, Gemini, etc.) for chat, page/video summaries, writing tools, and image/video generation. It routes to models it licenses in bulk rather than training its own foundation model. Pricing: Free: limited access to Basic/Plus-tier models. Pro: $19/month billed annually ($228/year) — the pricing-page toggle only renders the annual-billing figure, so no separate month-to-month price is confirmed. Teams: $15/seat/month billed annually ($180/year/seat), 2-seat minimum. Checked July 2026 on getmerlin.in/pricing. Platforms: Chrome extension, web app, iOS and Android apps. No native macOS/Windows desktop app; no direct API access. Known limitation: Merlin's own pricing-page FAQ states it provides no direct API access ('our service is designed as a user-friendly interface for multiple AI models') and that all user data is stored in the United States — both are vendor-stated facts, not assumptions. Pick Merlin if: you want one subscription bundling several frontier chat/image models plus a Chrome extension and mobile apps, without needing raw API access or EU data residency. 3. Sider — Multi-model AI sidebar and agent suite — chat, an autonomous browser-automation agent ('Claw'), page/site customization ('Code'), and content generation ('Create') — shipped across a Chrome/Edge extension plus native iOS, Android, Mac, and Windows apps. It switches between GPT-5.5, Claude, DeepSeek, Gemini, and others per its own pricing page. Pricing: Individual plans, monthly billing: Lite $25/month, Pro $50/month, Max $100/month — credit-based, with a shared cloud 'OpenClaw' computer included at each tier. Yearly billing advertises 17% off plus a free cloud computer. No free-tier plan card appears on the pricing page itself. Checked July 2026 on sider.ai/pricing. Platforms: Chrome, Edge, iOS, Android, macOS, and Windows (sider.ai/download). Known limitation: Sider has moved upmarket since its original cheap-extension positioning: its current pricing page shows no visible free subscription tier, with entry pricing at $25/month and all features drawing from one shared monthly credit pool rather than unlimited per-feature use. Pick Sider if: you want one account and one AI agent that follows you across a browser extension, phone, and desktop app, including built-in browser task automation. 4. Monica — Browser extension (Chrome/Edge) plus web and mobile app offering multi-model chat, writing/translation tools, and agent features (Deep Research, Browser Operator, Image Studio, Create Slides), switching across GPT, Claude, and Gemini family models per its own pricing page. Pricing: Free: 40 basic-model accesses/day, limited trials of image/video/ChatPDF/Agent. Pro: $8.3/month ($99/year). Max: promotional $16.6/month ($199/year flash-sale price, listed against a $299/year regular price — a stated 33% promo, not the standing price). Ultra: $82.9/month ($995/year). Checked July 2026 on monica.im/pricing. Platforms: Chrome/Edge extension, web app, iOS/Android app. Known limitation: Monica's own pricing-page FAQ restricts accounts to personal use ('any account sharing, multi-user usage, or non-personal automated/batch calls may result in account suspension or restrictions'). We could not find any vendor statement about EU vs. US data hosting — Monica is Singapore-headquartered per third-party company records, but server/data-residency location is undisclosed on monica.im/privacy. Pick Monica if: you want the deepest feature list (Deep Research, Slides, Image Studio, Browser Operator) in the browser-assistant category at a low entry price. 5. Perplexity — AI answer engine that searches the web and returns cited, sourced answers; also ships Comet, a separate free Chromium-based browser with an agent that can act on tabs, email, and calendars. Users can pick the underlying model per query — Perplexity's own Sonar model, plus GPT, Claude, and Gemini — per Perplexity's own Help Center. Pricing: Perplexity confirms Free, Pro, Max, and Enterprise tiers exist (per its own Help Center, checked July 2026), but perplexity.ai/pricing was gated by a Cloudflare bot-check on every direct fetch attempt during this check, so we could not independently confirm current dollar figures against the vendor page itself — check perplexity.ai/pricing directly before comparing cost. Platforms: Web, iOS/Android apps, Chrome/Edge extension, plus the standalone Comet browser (macOS/Windows) for agentic web actions. Known limitation: Autonomous 'act on the page' automation lives in Comet, a separate full browser you must install and switch to — per Perplexity's own Comet documentation, the core Perplexity app/extension is a search-and-answer product, not an on-screen agent inside your existing browser or desktop apps. Pick Perplexity if: you mainly want fast, cited web research and answers rather than an assistant that reads or acts on your existing screen and apps.
Why people switch: Jarvis sees every app, not just web pages; Connectors that take action, not just bundled chat models; Simple subscription tiers, no API-access gap; It never claims to run offline.
Pick a competitor instead if: You want one subscription bundling several frontier models — That's Merlin's actual product — bundled access to third-party models like GPT and Claude inside a single Chrome extension, plus web and mobile apps. Jarvis routes cloud frontier models automatically rather than letting you hand-pick a vendor per message. You want a Chrome/Edge sidebar with a browser-automation agent — Sider's Claw agent automates web tasks directly inside the sidebar, with model switching across GPT-5.5, Claude, DeepSeek, and Gemini, plus native iOS/Android/Mac/Windows apps. Jarvis has no browser-sidebar mode; it's a desktop floating bar instead. You want the deepest free tier in this category before paying anything — Monica's free plan (40 basic-model accesses/day) is a more generous entry point than Sider (no free tier on its current pricing page) or Jarvis's 40 requests/week. You want cited, current-web research, not screen capture — If the job is fast, sourced answers about what's happening right now on the web, Perplexity is purpose-built for that; its separate Comet browser adds agentic actions on tabs, email, and calendars. Jarvis's screenshot-and-act workflow is aimed at your own screen and apps, not open web research.
What is the best Merlin alternative in 2026? Jarvis for on-demand screen-aware help across every desktop app with real app actions; Merlin itself remains a strong pick for bundling several frontier chat models in a Chrome extension; Sider for a browser-automation agent that follows you across devices; Monica for the deepest free tier; Perplexity for cited, current-web research.
Is there a free Merlin alternative? Yes. Jarvis has a free plan (40 requests/week), Merlin has a free plan (limited daily Basic/Plus-model access), Monica has a free tier (40 basic-model accesses/day), and Perplexity confirms a free plan exists per its own Help Center. Sider's own current pricing page shows no free plan card — the cheapest tier is $25/month.
Which Merlin alternatives work outside the browser? Jarvis is a native desktop app for macOS (Apple Silicon and Intel), Windows 10+, and Linux, and works over any window — not just web pages. Sider and Monica ship companion mobile and desktop apps alongside their extensions, but their core surface is the browser sidebar. Merlin is Chrome-extension-first with a web and mobile app, and no native macOS/Windows desktop app.
Does Merlin offer API access? No. Merlin's own pricing-page FAQ states it provides no direct API access — 'our service is designed as a user-friendly interface for multiple AI models,' not a developer API.
Is Jarvis better for privacy than Merlin? Jarvis states its data residency explicitly: user data and database stored in the EU, AES-256-GCM token encryption, GDPR compliance, and no training on user data. Merlin's own pricing-page FAQ states all user data is stored in the United States — verify directly with the vendor if EU data residency specifically matters to you.
| Capability | Jarvis | Merlin | Sider | Monica | Perplexity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | On-demand screen-aware desktop assistant | Chrome-extension-first multi-model AI assistant | Browser sidebar/extension + agentic browser tool (Claw) | Browser-first AI assistant with agent features | AI answer engine + agentic Comet browser |
| AI model access | Cloud frontier models (Anthropic, OpenAI, Google), routed automatically | Bundled third-party models (e.g. Claude, GPT) per its own pricing page | Model-agnostic (GPT-5.5, Claude, DeepSeek, Gemini, etc. per plan) | Multi-model: GPT, Claude, and Gemini family models by tier | Model selection per query, including its own Sonar model, per Help Center |
| Free tier | 40 requests/week | Limited access to Basic/Plus-tier models | None on current pricing page | 40 basic-model accesses/day, limited trials of image/video/Agent | Free plan confirmed to exist (limits not itemized here) |
| Paid pricing (checked July 2026) | Pro $16/mo ($144/yr); Unlimited $32/mo | Pro $19/mo ($228/yr, annual only); Teams $15/seat/mo ($180/seat/yr) | Lite $25/mo; Pro $50/mo; Max $100/mo | Pro $8.3/mo ($99/yr); Max promo $16.6/mo ($199/yr); Ultra $82.9/mo ($995/yr) | Pro/Max/Enterprise tiers exist; current prices not independently confirmed here |
| Platforms | macOS (Apple Silicon + Intel), Windows 10+, Linux | Chrome extension, web app, iOS/Android apps | Chrome/Edge extension, iOS, Android, macOS, Windows | Chrome/Edge extension, web app, iOS/Android app | Web, iOS/Android, Chrome/Edge extension, Comet browser (macOS/Windows) |
| App connectors / integrations | 30+ OAuth connectors (Gmail, Slack, Notion, Linear, GitHub, Figma, Microsoft 365) | No direct API access, per its own pricing-page FAQ | Claw browser-automation agent; multi-model switching | Deep Research, Browser Operator, Create Slides agent features | Comet agent for browser/email/calendar actions (separate app) |
| Data hosting stated | Yes — GDPR-aligned systems (EU), AES-256-GCM token encryption | United States, per Merlin's own pricing-page FAQ | Not stated on public pages we reviewed | Not disclosed on monica.im/privacy (Singapore HQ per third-party records only) | Not stated on public pages we reviewed |
Alternatives · Merlin alternatives · Last updated July 28, 2026