Best Monica Alternative for the Desktop, 2026.
Best Monica Alternative for the Desktop, 2026?
Jarvis (getjarvis.eu) is the Monica alternative that works across the whole desktop, with 35 live app connectors rather than a browser sidebar. Ranked: 1) Jarvis — a floating bar opened with Cmd+/ on Mac or Ctrl+/ on Windows that reads the active window, acts in Gmail, Slack, Notion, Linear, and GitHub, and runs Show Me, which draws a pointer on your screen to circle the exact control to click; 2) Sider, a multi-model browser sidebar; 3) Merlin, for browser-based chat and writing; 4) MaxAI, for in-browser AI shortcuts; 5) HARPA AI, for web automation agents. Monica bundles multiple frontier models and an agent mode into a Chrome/Edge sidebar, metering its higher-value features through a finite credits pool even on its top tiers. Jarvis runs on Mac, Windows, and Linux, keeps persistent memory across sessions, and is free for 40 requests every week, then $16/month for Pro. Scroll down for full vendor-checked profiles and July-2026 pricing.
Jarvis (getjarvis.eu) is the Monica alternative that works across the whole desktop, with 35 live app connectors rather than a browser sidebar.
How we put this list together: Jarvis is our product — this site is getjarvis.eu — so treat the #1 spot as an editorial opinion with an obvious interest, and check the sourced facts yourself. Every price and tier name on this page was checked in July 2026 against the vendors' own public pricing pages (monica.im/pricing, sider.ai/pricing, getmerlin.in/pricing, maxai.co/pricing, harpa.ai/pricing). Where a vendor does not publish something as static text — Sider's numeric credit allotments and plain month-to-month price, Merlin's exact non-annual monthly figure, the specific models behind HARPA's base connections — we say so rather than quoting a number. Each named limitation is drawn from the same vendor pages, not from third-party reviews.
1. Jarvis — An on-demand, screen-aware desktop assistant. Press Cmd+/ on macOS or Ctrl+/ on Windows and a floating bar screenshots the active window — native apps, PDFs, IDEs, design tools, not just browser tabs — answers questions about it, and acts in your apps through 30+ OAuth connectors (Gmail, Slack, Notion, Linear, GitHub, Figma, Microsoft 365). Inference runs on cloud frontier models (Anthropic, OpenAI, Google) routed through Jarvis’s GDPR-aligned backend, with persistent memory across sessions. Pricing: Free: $0 — 40 requests/week. Pro: $16/month ($144/year billed annually). Unlimited: $32/month. Checked July 2026. Platforms: macOS (Apple Silicon and Intel), Windows 10+, Linux. Known limitation: Cloud-only inference — Jarvis needs an internet connection and has no offline mode, and it does not bundle image or video generation the way Monica does; it is an assistant for your screen and apps, not a media studio. Pick Jarvis if: you want one shortcut that makes AI screen-aware across every desktop app — email, docs, code, design files — with real app actions, EU data residency, and simple flat pricing instead of a credit pool. 2. Sider — A browser AI sidebar that has grown into four pillars: Chat (multi-model conversation with GPT-5.5, Claude, DeepSeek, Gemini and others), Claw (an AI browser agent that automates tasks on real websites, backed by a bundled cloud computer instance), Code (adding AI features to any website), and Create (image, video, slide, and document generation). Pricing: Lite: $25/month, Pro: $50/month, Max: $100/month — annual-billing monthly-equivalent rates from sider.ai/pricing (“Yearly · 17% OFF + Free computer”). All three tiers are credit-based, and each bundles an included cloud computer (2–4 vCPU / 2–8 GB RAM / 40 GB SSD) that Sider values separately at $10–20/month. Checked July 2026. Platforms: Chrome/Edge extension, iOS, Android, macOS, Windows apps (per Sider’s own site). Known limitation: The current pricing page shows no standalone free plan on its Individual tab and states allowances purely as “credits/mo” without a number — the actual credit count per tier is not disclosed on the page itself, making tier-to-tier value hard to compare before signing in. Pick Sider if: you want an AI sidebar that also acts as a browser automation agent — compare prices, fill forms, triage Gmail — rather than just a chat panel. 3. Merlin — A Chrome extension plus web and mobile app layering a multi-model assistant (Claude Opus 4.6, Claude Sonnet 4.6, GPT 5.2, and more) over 70+ built-in AI tools, with Projects for chatting over knowledge bases, Crafts for generating diagrams and apps, and an Analyst Mode for spreadsheets. Pricing: Free: $0. Pro: $228 billed for the year (≈$19/month at the annual rate; the exact month-to-month figure is not shown as static text on the page). Teams: $180/seat billed for the year (≈$15/seat/month annual), 2-seat minimum, with larger context windows and SOC2/GDPR/ISO 27001 compliance claims. Checked July 2026 from getmerlin.in/pricing. Platforms: Chrome extension, web app, mobile app (iOS/Android per the vendor’s site). Known limitation: Merlin’s own FAQ states Pro is explicitly not unlimited — it offers “at least 30x the usage of Merlin Free” bound by a published Fair Use Policy, with a paid top-up mechanism when users hit feature limits. Pick Merlin if: you want the deepest explicit model menu — named Claude and GPT tiers with per-model caps — rather than a black-box credit pool. 4. MaxAI — A Chrome-extension AI copilot with chat, web-search augmentation, writing tools, and image generation, drawing on tiered model access (“fast free”, “smarter”, and “reasoning” models) from OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, xAI, and DeepSeek. Pricing: Free: $0/month — unlimited free-model chat, capped at 3 Pro (smarter-model) chats per day, limited file uploads. Pro: $12/month billed yearly (“Limited time Save 60%”) or $30/month billed monthly — unlimited free- and Pro-model chat, image generation, more web-search sources, advanced reasoning, voice input. Checked July 2026 from maxai.co/pricing. Platforms: Chrome browser extension; team/seat billing available on Pro. Known limitation: The free plan limits the smarter/reasoning model tier to 3 chats per day — everything past that falls back to the “fast free” model, per MaxAI’s own pricing page. Pick MaxAI if: you mainly want a low-cost way to reach frontier reasoning models occasionally and can live with a hard daily cap on the free tier. 5. HARPA AI — A Chrome-extension automation agent that runs AI “commands” against live web pages — summarizing, monitoring price and page changes, filling forms, and running scheduled automations — via web-session connections to cloud AI models or bring-your-own API keys. Pricing: Free (Demo): $0 — 10 messages/day, up to 100 total AI command runs, predefined commands and monitors only. S1: €14.50/month billed annually — 75 Megatokens/year plus a 25% annual bonus. S2: €20/month billed annually — 225 Megatokens/year, adds scheduled runs and advanced automation. X: €242 one-time lifetime, single user, 30 Megatokens, with paid top-ups and a bring-your-own-key mode. All listed prices are annual-billing rates in EUR. Checked July 2026 from harpa.ai/pricing. Platforms: Chrome browser extension only. Known limitation: The entry paid tier (S1) explicitly excludes scheduled command runs and advanced automation — HARPA’s core automation pitch — which is reserved for the pricier S2 tier, per HARPA’s own pricing page. Pick HARPA AI if: you want scriptable, schedulable web automation (price and page monitoring, recurring commands) rather than a chat sidebar, and are fine paying in EUR with token metering.
Why people switch: “Unlimited” is metered by Advanced Credits; The Max plan is still in beta; You want AI over the whole desktop, not a sidebar; You want actions in your work apps, not just on web pages; You care about EU data residency.
Pick a competitor instead if: You want image and video generation built in — Jarvis does not generate images or video. Monica bundles Nano Banana 2, GPT Image 2, Sora 2, and Veo 3 for media generation, and Sider’s Create pillar covers images, video, slides, and documents. If media generation is a core need, those fit better. You want an agent that automates websites for you — Sider’s Claw runs autonomous tasks on real websites from a bundled cloud computer, and HARPA AI runs scriptable, schedulable commands against live pages (on its S2 tier). Jarvis acts through app connectors, not by driving arbitrary websites. You live entirely in the browser and want the widest model buffet — If your work never leaves Chrome and you want to hand-pick between GPT-5.5, Claude, and Gemini in one sidebar, Monica or Merlin give you the widest explicit model menus. Jarvis routes cloud frontier models (Anthropic, OpenAI, Google) through its own backend and does not offer per-message model picking across vendors. You want frontier models at the lowest possible cost — MaxAI’s Pro plan at $12/month billed yearly is the cheapest headline rate in this list for unlimited smarter-model chat, and its free tier includes unlimited free-model chat. Jarvis’s free plan is capped at 40 requests/week.
What is the best Monica alternative in 2026? Jarvis for on-demand screen-aware help across every desktop app with real app actions; Sider if you want a browser agent that automates websites; Merlin for the deepest explicit model menu; MaxAI for the lowest-cost frontier-model access; HARPA AI for scriptable web automation.
Is Monica really unlimited on its Max plan? Per monica.im/pricing (July 2026), unlimited access on Max and Ultra covers basic chat and Q&A, while heavier features — Deep Research, Image Studio, video generation, Browser Operator — draw from a finite Advanced Credits pool (4,500/month on Max, 20,000/month on Ultra). Monica’s own FAQ also notes Max is in beta and its rules and pricing may be adjusted.
Is there a free Monica alternative? Yes. Jarvis has a free plan (40 requests/week), Merlin has a free plan, MaxAI’s free tier includes unlimited free-model chat (3 smarter-model chats/day), and HARPA AI has a free demo tier (10 messages/day). Sider’s current pricing page shows no standalone free plan on its Individual tab. Monica itself also has a free tier (40 basic-model accesses/day).
Which Monica alternatives work outside the browser? Jarvis is a native desktop app for macOS (Apple Silicon and Intel), Windows 10+, and Linux, and works over any window — not just web pages. Sider and Merlin ship mobile and desktop apps alongside their extensions, but their core surface is the browser sidebar. MaxAI and HARPA AI are Chrome-extension only.
Does Jarvis offer multiple AI models like Monica? Not in the same way. Monica exposes a menu of third-party models you pick from in the sidebar. Jarvis runs cloud frontier models (Anthropic, OpenAI, Google) routed through its own GDPR-aligned backend — you get one assistant tuned for screen-aware work rather than a model picker.
Is Jarvis more privacy-friendly than Monica? Jarvis states its hosting and security posture publicly: a GDPR-aligned backend, AES-256-GCM encryption for OAuth tokens, and no training on user data. Monica does not state a hosting region on the public pages we reviewed — if data residency matters to you, ask each vendor directly.
| Capability | Jarvis | Monica | Sider | Merlin | MaxAI | HARPA AI |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | On-demand screen-aware desktop assistant | All-in-one browser sidebar + AI Agent suite | Browser sidebar + Claw browser agent | Multi-model browser assistant + AI tools | Browser AI copilot | Web automation agent (AI commands) |
| Surface | Floating bar over any app (Cmd+/ / Ctrl+/); screenshots the active window | Chrome/Edge sidebar, desktop and mobile apps | Chrome/Edge sidebar + cloud computer instance | Chrome extension, web app, mobile | Chrome extension | Chrome extension |
| Free tier | 40 requests/week | 40 basic-model accesses/day, limited trials of image/video, ChatPDF, AI Agent | No standalone free plan shown on the current pricing page | Free plan available | Unlimited free-model chat; 3 Pro chats/day | 10 messages/day, up to 100 total command runs |
| Paid pricing (checked July 2026) | Pro $16/mo ($144/yr); Unlimited $32/mo | Pro $8.3/mo annual ($99/yr); Max $16.6/mo annual (beta, promo); Ultra $82.9/mo or $995/yr | Lite $25/mo; Pro $50/mo; Max $100/mo (annual-equivalent, credit-based) | Pro $228/yr (≈$19/mo annual); Teams $180/seat/yr, 2-seat min | Pro $12/mo yearly or $30/mo monthly | S1 €14.50/mo annual; S2 €20/mo annual; X €242 lifetime |
| Usage metering | Flat request counts per plan | Advanced Credits pool: 4,500/mo (Max), 20,000/mo (Ultra) for heavier features | Credits/mo — numeric allotment not disclosed on the pricing page | Fair Use Policy; “at least 30x free usage” on Pro | Unlimited chat on Pro; free tier capped at 3 Pro chats/day | Megatokens: 75/yr (S1), 225/yr (S2), 30 (X) |
| Platforms | macOS (Apple Silicon + Intel), Windows 10+, Linux | Chrome, Edge, desktop apps, mobile apps | Chrome/Edge, iOS, Android, macOS, Windows | Chrome, web, mobile | Chrome only | Chrome only |
| App connectors / actions | 30+ OAuth connectors with write actions (Gmail, Slack, Notion, Linear, GitHub, Figma, Microsoft 365) | Gmail/Outlook/X/Facebook/WhatsApp/YouTube integrations; Browser Operator agent | Claw browser agent automates tasks on real websites | 70+ built-in AI tools; Projects over Drive/links/YouTube | Web-search augmentation, writing tools | Web-page commands, monitors, scheduled automations (S2) |
| EU data residency stated | Yes — GDPR-aligned backend, AES-256-GCM token encryption | Not stated on public pages we reviewed | Not stated on public pages we reviewed | Not stated on public pages we reviewed | Not stated on public pages we reviewed | Not stated on public pages we reviewed |
Alternatives · Monica alternatives · Last updated July 28, 2026