Msty Alternative: What Else Works in 2026?

Msty Alternative: What Else Works in 2026?

Jarvis (getjarvis.eu), a screen-aware desktop AI assistant, is the Msty alternative that also acts in your apps. Ranked: 1) Jarvis — a floating bar opened with Cmd+/ on Mac or Ctrl+/ on Windows, running on Mac, Windows, and Linux, connecting through 35 live app connectors including Gmail, Slack, Notion, Linear, and GitHub, keeping persistent memory across sessions, and running Show Me, which draws a pointer on your screen to circle the exact control to click; 2) Msty, a local-inference chat client for people who run Ollama or bring their own API keys; 3) TypingMind, a bring-your-own-key chat frontend; 4) LM Studio, for running open-weight models locally. Jarvis encrypts tokens with AES-256-GCM, stores user data in the EU, and is free for 40 requests every week, then $16/month for Pro. If local inference is the job, Msty and LM Studio fit better — scroll down for full profiles.

Jarvis (getjarvis.eu), a screen-aware desktop AI assistant, is the Msty alternative that also acts in your apps.

How we put this list together: Jarvis is our product — this site is getjarvis.eu — so treat the #1 spot as an editorial opinion with an obvious interest, and check the sourced facts yourself. Every price and tier name on this page was checked in July 2026 against the vendors' own public pricing pages (msty.ai/pricing, typingmind.com/buy, lmstudio.ai/pricing, lmstudio.ai/download). The one exception is ChatGPT: openai.com/chatgpt/pricing and openai.com/business/pricing both returned an HTTP 403 to automated fetch, so we could not confirm OpenAI's own numbers directly — we say so rather than quoting a figure as verified. Msty and LM Studio's exact OS-by-OS platform support is inferred from their local-inference architecture (Ollama/llama.cpp) rather than an itemized list on the vendor's pricing page. Each named limitation is drawn from the same vendor pages, not from third-party reviews.

1. Jarvis — An on-demand, screen-aware desktop assistant. Press Cmd+/ on macOS or Ctrl+/ on Windows and a floating bar screenshots the active window, answers questions about it, and acts in your apps through 30+ OAuth connectors (Gmail, Slack, Notion, Linear, GitHub, Figma, Microsoft 365). Inference runs on cloud frontier models (Anthropic, OpenAI, Google) routed through Jarvis's GDPR-aligned backend, with persistent memory across sessions — there is no local-model or offline mode by design. Pricing: Free: $0 — 40 requests/week. Pro: $16/month ($144/year billed annually). Unlimited: $32/month. Checked July 2026. Platforms: macOS (Apple Silicon and Intel), Windows 10+, Linux. Known limitation: Cloud-only inference — Jarvis needs an internet connection and has no offline or local-model mode, so it cannot match Msty or LM Studio for privacy-first, on-device use. Pick Jarvis if: you want one shortcut that makes AI screen-aware across email, docs, code, and dashboards — not just a chat window — with EU data residency and a real free tier. 2. Msty — Desktop AI client that runs local models via Ollama/llama.cpp and also connects to cloud model APIs, with split-chat and parallel-response features. The vendor has expanded from a single app into a suite: Studio (the original chat workspace), Go (agent workflows for Discord/Telegram/WhatsApp), Nexus (a local model gateway/control center), and Stack (a knowledge layer, in preview). Pricing: Studio: Free ($0) — desktop chat with local/online models and personas. Aurum: $149/year billed annually, or $349 one-time for Aurum Lifetime (adds web access, Azure/Bedrock providers, assistants). Enterprise/Teams is custom-quoted, 5-seat minimum. Go and Nexus are currently free/beta; Stack is 'coming soon' with pricing not yet published. Checked July 2026. Platforms: Desktop app — Windows, macOS, and Linux are implied by its Ollama/llama.cpp local-inference architecture, but the pricing page does not itemize supported operating systems. Known limitation: It is a chat window: no screen awareness and limited integration with other apps, and several product lines (Go Teams, Nexus Teams, Stack) are still pre-release or 'coming soon' rather than shipped with published pricing. Pick Msty if: you want a privacy-first, local-inference chat client and are comfortable running Ollama or bringing your own API keys, without needing screen-aware automation. 3. TypingMind — A browser-based frontend/chat UI that lets you bring your own API keys to talk to multiple LLM providers (OpenAI, Claude, Gemini, etc.) through one interface, with plugins, projects, and multi-model chat. Pricing: One-time lifetime licenses, not subscriptions: Standard $39, Extended $79, Premium $99 (shown on the vendor page as a promo, -50% off a $198 list price 'this week'), and a Bulk/Team license at $395 (promo, regularly $790) covering up to 10 users/50 devices. Teams plan is custom-quoted. API/token costs are billed separately by the model provider. Checked July 2026. Platforms: Web app (runs in-browser); also offered as a self-hosted/PWA-style install. Known limitation: Pricing shown ($99 Premium, $395 Bulk) is an active discount off higher list prices ($198 / $790) that may not hold at time of publishing — confirm the live price before quoting it as standard. It's a chat frontend only, with no local or screen-level automation, and you manage and pay for API keys per provider separately. Pick TypingMind if: you want a one-time-purchase, provider-agnostic chat UI and don't mind managing your own API keys and their usage costs. 4. LM Studio — A desktop app for downloading and running local LLMs (via MLX/llama.cpp backends) with a chat UI, recently adding a 'Bionic' agent layer with cloud model access, voice transcription, and document editing on top of the local-model core. Pricing: Core app: Free ($0) for local LLM use and offline voice transcription, supporting up to 5 devices via LM Link. Cloud model access is pay-as-you-go via purchased credits. A subscription 'Bionic Pass' is announced but pricing is not yet published ('coming soon'). Enterprise pricing is not published. Checked July 2026. Platforms: macOS, Windows, and Linux (official download page lists all three); the newer 'Bionic' agent features are currently in preview for macOS and Windows only. Known limitation: It's fundamentally a local-model runner: cloud-model use requires purchasing credits, and the newer agent/Bionic features are still in preview on only two of the three supported operating systems. Pick LM Studio if: you mainly want to run open-weight models locally for free and only occasionally need cloud models via pay-as-you-go credits. 5. ChatGPT — OpenAI's consumer/business chat assistant, offered as a hosted web/desktop/mobile app with a managed frontier model — no local-model or bring-your-own-key option. Pricing: Free $0/mo; Go $8/mo; Plus $20/mo; Pro $100/mo or $200/mo; Business $25/user/mo billed monthly or $20/user/mo billed annually (2-seat minimum); Enterprise custom. Platforms: Web, desktop (macOS/Windows), iOS, Android. Known limitation: Cloud-only, with no local or offline model option and no direct file-system or screen-level automation without separate agent-style features; per Jarvis's framing, general chat apps like ChatGPT lack screen-aware, app-integrated automation. Pick ChatGPT if: you want the most widely adopted managed chat assistant with zero setup and don't need local inference, screen awareness, or app-connector automation.

Why people switch: Msty is a chat window, not a screen-aware assistant; You want to act, not just chat; You'd rather not manage local models or your own API keys; You care about EU data residency.

Pick a competitor instead if: You want local, offline inference for privacy — Jarvis is cloud-only by design. If running models entirely on your own machine matters more than screen awareness, Msty (via Ollama/llama.cpp) or LM Studio (free local runner) are built for exactly that. You want a one-time purchase and full control of your API keys — TypingMind's lifetime licenses ($39–$99, promo pricing checked July 2026) mean no recurring subscription — you pay OpenAI, Anthropic, or Google directly for tokens instead. Jarvis bundles model cost into a flat monthly plan. You just want the most widely used hosted chat assistant — If the job is general-purpose conversation with zero setup and you don't need screen awareness or app connectors, ChatGPT's reach and ecosystem are hard to match — though we could not independently verify its current pricing. You want to experiment with open-weight models for free — LM Studio's core app is free for running open-weight models like GLM 5.2, Kimi, or DeepSeek V4 Pro entirely on-device. Jarvis has no local-model option at any tier.

What is the best Msty alternative in 2026? Jarvis for on-demand screen-aware help across all your apps; Msty or LM Studio if you want local, offline inference; TypingMind if you want a one-time-purchase bring-your-own-key chat UI; ChatGPT if you want the most widely used hosted chat assistant.

Does Jarvis run offline like Msty? No. Msty's core strength is local inference via Ollama/llama.cpp, which can run fully offline. Jarvis routes cloud frontier models (Anthropic, OpenAI, Google) through a GDPR-aligned backend and needs an internet connection — it never claims an offline mode.

Is there a free Msty alternative? Yes. Jarvis has a free plan (40 requests/week), Msty's Studio tier is free for local/online chat, and LM Studio's core local-model app is free. TypingMind and ChatGPT's free terms differ — TypingMind sells one-time licenses with no free tier, and ChatGPT's exact free-tier terms could not be independently verified from OpenAI's own pricing page at time of writing.

Can Jarvis see my screen and apps the way Msty cannot? Yes. Msty is a chat window, so you bring context to it by typing or pasting. Jarvis reads whatever is on screen when you press Cmd+/ or Ctrl+/, then can act through connectors like Gmail, Notion, and Linear. That screen awareness and cross-app action, not chat quality, is the main reason to choose Jarvis over a local or BYOK chat client.

How does Jarvis pricing compare to Msty, TypingMind, and LM Studio? Jarvis is a flat $16/month Pro or $32/month Unlimited with a free plan (40 requests/week), and model cost is included. Msty's Aurum tier is $149/year or $349 lifetime; TypingMind sells one-time licenses from $39–$99 (promo pricing) plus your own API spend; LM Studio's core app is free but cloud-model use runs on pay-as-you-go credits.

Which Msty alternatives work on Windows? Jarvis runs on Windows 10+ (plus macOS on Apple Silicon and Intel, and Linux). Msty's local-inference architecture implies Windows support, though the vendor doesn't itemize it. LM Studio explicitly lists Windows on its download page. TypingMind and ChatGPT work from any OS via the browser or their desktop clients.

Jarvis vs Msty vs TypingMind vs LM Studio vs ChatGPT — feature comparison
CapabilityJarvisMstyTypingMindLM StudioChatGPT
What it isOn-demand screen-aware desktop assistantLocal + cloud AI chat clientBYOK chat frontendLocal LLM runner + chat UIHosted consumer/business chat assistant
Model approachCloud frontier models via Jarvis's GDPR-aligned backend; never offlineLocal models via Ollama/llama.cpp, or your own cloud API keysBring-your-own-API-key to any supported providerLocal open-weight models on-device, plus paid cloud creditsOpenAI's own hosted models; no local or BYOK option
Free tier40 requests/weekStudio Free: desktop chat with local/online modelsNone — one-time lifetime licenses onlyFree core app for local LLM use, up to 5 devicesFree tier exists per third-party trackers; exact terms not independently verified
Paid pricing (checked July 2026)Pro $16/mo ($144/yr); Unlimited $32/moAurum $149/yr or $349 lifetimeStandard $39 / Extended $79 / Premium $99 (promo pricing) / Bulk $395Pay-as-you-go cloud credits; Bionic Pass pricing not yet publishedCould not verify — vendor pricing pages returned HTTP 403 to automated fetch
PlatformsmacOS (Apple Silicon + Intel), Windows 10+, LinuxDesktop app; OS list implied by architecture, not itemized by vendorWeb app (browser-based), self-hosted/PWA optionmacOS, Windows, Linux (Bionic features preview on macOS/Windows only)Web, desktop (macOS/Windows), iOS, Android
App connectors / integrations30+ OAuth connectors (Gmail, Slack, Notion, Linear, GitHub, Figma, Microsoft 365)None highlighted on the pricing pageNone — chat frontend onlyNone — local-model runnerFirst-party integrations vary by tier; not itemized on the pages we could check
EU data residency statedYes — GDPR-aligned backend, AES-256-GCM token encryptionNot stated on public pages we reviewedNot stated on public pages we reviewedNot stated on public pages we reviewedNot stated on public pages we reviewed

Alternatives · Msty alternatives · Last updated July 28, 2026