Best Otter.ai alternative for cross-app work.
What about after the meeting?
Otter.ai captures the meeting; Jarvis (getjarvis.eu) is a desktop AI assistant that works over whatever app you are in. Jarvis scores 6/10 on price in our own rubric; six of the ten tools we scored beat it on that dimension. Open the bar with Cmd+/ on Mac or Ctrl+/ on Windows and ask about the window in front of you. Its 30+ app connectors reach Gmail, Slack, Notion, and Google Calendar, so the follow-ups land where you work. 3) Fireflies.ai or Fathom — when meeting capture is the main job. Jarvis keeps persistent memory across sessions and is free for 40 requests every week, then $16/month for Pro; Unlimited is $32/month. Download Jarvis below, then compare the meeting-focused alternatives and July-2026 pricing.
Otter.ai captures the meeting; Jarvis (getjarvis.eu) is a desktop AI assistant that works over whatever app you are in.
How we put this list together: Jarvis is our product — this site is getjarvis.eu — so treat the #1 spot as an editorial opinion with an obvious interest, and check the sourced facts yourself. Every price and tier name on this page was checked in July 2026 against the vendors' own public pricing pages (otter.ai/pricing, fireflies.ai/pricing, fathom.ai/pricing, granola.ai/pricing). Where a vendor does not publish something, we say so rather than quoting a number: Granola's pricing page does not itemize an annual/discounted billing option, and Fireflies.ai and Fathom do not publish AI-credit or minute allowances beyond what's stated on their own pricing pages. A third-party search snippet claiming Otter.ai supports only English, Spanish, and French was not confirmed on otter.ai/pricing and is excluded rather than repeated as fact. We also found no published Jarvis meeting-specific roadmap, so this page describes Jarvis's current lack of meeting-transcription features rather than speculating about future ones. Each named limitation is drawn from the same vendor pages, not from third-party reviews.
1. Jarvis — A screen-aware desktop assistant, not a dedicated meeting-transcription product. Press Cmd+/ on macOS or Ctrl+/ on Windows and a floating bar screenshots the active window, answers questions about it, and acts in your apps through 30+ OAuth connectors (Gmail, Slack, Notion, Linear, GitHub, Figma, Microsoft 365). Inference runs on cloud frontier models (Anthropic, OpenAI, Google) routed through Jarvis's GDPR-aligned backend, with persistent memory across sessions. Pricing: Free: $0 — 40 requests/week, 7-day Pro trial. Pro: $16/month ($144/year billed annually), full usage and all 30+ connectors. Unlimited: $32/month, removes usage caps, adds BYO API keys and extended context. Checked July 2026. Platforms: macOS (Apple Silicon and Intel), Windows 10+, Linux. Known limitation: No dedicated meeting-recording bot, live transcript, or speaker-diarization feature — Jarvis is built for cross-app screen work, not call recording, so if automated meeting transcription is the actual job, it is the wrong fit. Pick Jarvis if: you want one assistant across your whole desktop workflow — email, docs, calendar, screen — rather than a tool scoped to meetings. 2. Otter.ai — Real-time meeting transcription, speaker identification, and AI meeting summaries — the category-defining tool for exactly this job. Pricing: Basic: free — 300 transcription minutes/month, 3 lifetime file imports, 1 concurrent meeting, 25-conversation history cap. Pro: $16.99/month, or $8.33/month billed annually — 1,200 monthly transcription minutes, up to 90-minute meetings, 10 file imports/month. Business: $30/month, or $19.99/month billed annually — unlimited meetings and recordings, up to 4-hour meetings, 3 concurrent meetings. Enterprise: custom pricing, SSO/SCIM, HIPAA add-on, API access. Checked July 2026. Platforms: Web, iOS, Android, Chrome extension, Zoom/Meet/Teams meeting bot. Known limitation: The free Basic plan caps out at 300 transcription minutes per month and only 25 stored conversations — unlimited meeting length or recording requires the $30/month (or $19.99/month annual) Business tier, not Pro. Pick Otter.ai if: meeting transcription and speaker ID are the whole job — Otter is the category-defining tool for exactly that. 3. Fireflies.ai — A meeting recorder and transcription tool with conversation intelligence and CRM integrations, built for sales and CX teams. Pricing: Free: $0 — 400 storage minutes/team, 20 AI credits, 2-hour recording cap. Pro: $18/month, or $10/month billed annually — 8,000 storage minutes/seat, 20 AI credits, no conversation intelligence. Business: $29/month, or $19/month billed annually — unlimited storage, 30 AI credits, adds conversation intelligence and team analytics, 3-hour recording cap. Enterprise: $39/month, annual billing only — unlimited storage, 50 AI credits, 4-hour recording cap, SSO/SCIM/HIPAA. Checked July 2026. Platforms: Web, Zoom/Meet/Teams meeting bot, Chrome extension. Known limitation: Conversation intelligence and team analytics are locked out entirely on the $18/month Pro tier — you need the $29/month Business plan or above to get them, and even then per-plan recording length is capped at 2-4 hours. Pick Fireflies.ai if: you're a sales or CX team that wants conversation-intelligence coaching baked into meeting notes. 4. Fathom — An AI meeting notetaker with a genuinely free unlimited recording and transcription tier, plus paid tiers for CRM sync and coaching. Pricing: Free: $0 — unlimited recordings, transcripts, summaries, and clips. Premium (individual): $20/month, or $16/month billed annually — adds AI action items and a conversational assistant. Team: $19/month, or $15/month billed annually (2-seat minimum). Business: $34/month, or $25/month billed annually — adds CRM field sync, Deal View, and AI scorecards. Enterprise: custom pricing. Checked July 2026. Platforms: Web, Zoom/Meet/Teams meeting bot. Known limitation: Team-tier pricing requires a 2-seat minimum, so a solo user who outgrows the free plan is pushed straight to the $20/month (or $16/month annual) individual Premium plan rather than a cheaper team rate. Pick Fathom if: you want a genuinely unlimited free tier for basic recording and transcription and only pay once you need action items or CRM sync. 5. Granola — A Mac-native AI notepad that enhances your own typed meeting notes rather than recording a bot into the call. Pricing: Basic: $0/month — limited meeting history. Business: $14/month per user — unlimited meeting notes and history, advanced AI models, integrations (Notion, Slack, HubSpot, Attio, Affinity, Zapier), API/MCP access. Enterprise: $35/month per user — SSO, priority support, org-wide controls. Checked July 2026; the pricing page does not publish an annual/discounted billing option. Platforms: macOS (native), Windows. Known limitation: The published pricing page lists no annual or discounted billing option, unlike Otter.ai, Fireflies.ai, and Fathom, which all offer roughly 20-50% off for annual commitment. Pick Granola if: you take your own meeting notes and want AI to clean and enrich them rather than replace note-taking with a recorded transcript.
Why people switch: You want more than call recaps; Jarvis acts, not just transcribes; You care about EU data residency; You want on-demand, not always-on.
Pick a competitor instead if: You need real-time meeting transcription and speaker ID — Jarvis has no meeting-recording feature by design. Otter.ai (free 300 min/month, Pro from $8.33/month annual) is the category-defining tool for exactly this. You want a genuinely unlimited free meeting recorder — Fathom's free tier includes unlimited recordings, transcripts, and clips with no minute cap — closer to what a budget-conscious meeting-first user actually wants than Jarvis's 40-requests/week general-purpose free plan. You need CRM-connected meeting intelligence — Fireflies.ai (free tier, Pro from $10/user/month annual) logs calls straight into a CRM and adds coaching and conversation-intelligence features Jarvis does not offer. You want notes without a visible bot in the call, Mac or Windows only — Granola (free Basic, $14/user/month Business) builds notes from local audio capture and your own typed notes with no recorder joining the meeting, but there is no web client.
What is the best Otter.ai alternative in 2026? Jarvis for on-demand, screen-aware help across all your apps, not just meetings. If you specifically need meeting transcription like Otter.ai, Fireflies.ai and Fathom are purpose-built alternatives, and Granola is the pick if you want notes without a bot joining the call.
Can Jarvis replace Otter.ai for meeting transcription? No — Jarvis has no dedicated meeting-recording bot, live transcript, or speaker-diarization feature. It can read a transcript or notes window already on your screen and summarize or extract actions from it, but if you need a hands-off bot that automatically transcribes every call, Otter.ai, Fireflies.ai, or Fathom do that; Jarvis covers the work around your meetings instead.
Is there a free Otter.ai alternative? Yes — every tool on this list has a free tier: Jarvis (40 requests/week), Otter.ai (300 minutes/month), Fireflies.ai (400 minutes/month pooled per team, 20 AI credits), Fathom (unlimited recordings), and Granola (Basic, limited history).
Which Otter.ai alternatives work on Windows? Jarvis runs on Windows 10+ (plus macOS on Apple Silicon and Intel, and Linux). Granola ships a native Windows desktop app. Otter.ai, Fireflies.ai, and Fathom are accessible from any OS as meeting bots plus web or mobile clients.
Does Jarvis work during Zoom or Google Meet calls? Jarvis works over any app including a meeting window — press Cmd+/ or Ctrl+/ and ask about what is on screen. It does not join calls or transcribe audio continuously by design; use Otter.ai, Fireflies.ai, or Fathom for live call recording and transcription.
Is Jarvis more private than Otter.ai? Jarvis states a GDPR-aligned backend with AES-256-GCM token encryption and GDPR compliance. Otter.ai, Fireflies.ai, Fathom, and Granola's public pricing pages we reviewed did not state a specific hosting region — verify data-residency claims directly with each vendor if that matters to you.
| Capability | Jarvis | Otter.ai | Fireflies.ai | Fathom | Granola |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | On-demand screen-aware desktop assistant | AI meeting transcription service | Meeting recorder with CRM automation | AI meeting recorder and notetaker | Bot-free AI meeting notepad |
| Capture model | Screenshot of active window on summon (Cmd+/ / Ctrl+/); no meeting-bot recording | Meeting-bot recording (Zoom, Meet, Teams); capture mechanism not detailed on public pages | Meeting-bot recording with AI-credit-gated summaries | Meeting-bot recording (Zoom, Meet, Teams) | Local system-audio capture merged with typed notes; no bot joins the call |
| Free tier | 40 requests/week | 300 min/month, 30-min cap per conversation, 25-conversation history cap | 400 min/month pooled per team, 20 AI credits | Unlimited recordings/transcripts/clips | Basic: notes with limited history |
| Paid pricing (checked July 2026) | Pro $16/mo ($144/yr); Unlimited $32/mo | Pro $8.33/mo (annual); Business $19.99/mo (annual) | Pro $10/mo/seat (annual); Business $19/mo/seat (annual) | Premium $16/mo (annual); Team $15/mo/user (annual, 2-seat min); Business $25/mo/user (annual) | Business $14/user/mo; Enterprise $35/user/mo |
| Platforms | macOS (Apple Silicon + Intel), Windows 10+, Linux | Web, iOS, Android, Chrome extension, meeting bot | Web, Chrome extension, meeting bot, mobile app | Web, meeting bot | macOS (native), Windows |
| App connectors / integrations | 30+ OAuth connectors (Gmail, Slack, Notion, Linear, GitHub, Figma, Microsoft 365) | Meeting-platform integrations | CRM logging and voice-agent skills add-ons | CRM field sync (Business tier) | Notion, Slack, HubSpot, Attio, Affinity, Zapier (Business tier) |
| EU data residency stated | Yes — GDPR-aligned backend, AES-256-GCM token encryption | Not stated on public pages we reviewed | Not stated on public pages we reviewed | Not stated on public pages we reviewed | Not stated on public pages we reviewed |
Alternatives · Otter.ai alternatives · Last updated July 29, 2026