A Pieces alternative for desktop work?
What connects your everyday apps?
Jarvis (getjarvis.eu), a screen-aware desktop AI assistant, is a Pieces alternative that acts across your live apps. In our own scored comparison of 10 desktop assistants, Jarvis finishes last of ten on maturity and ecosystem, at 3/10. Its floating bar captures the window you are in on request, keeps memory between sessions, points at things with Show Me, and reaches 30+ apps, among them Gmail, Slack, Notion, Linear, and GitHub. Jarvis is cloud-routed by design, with EU data residency (data at rest), while Pieces is the specialist for IDE-focused capture and recall. Jarvis is free for 40 requests every week, then $16/month for Pro. Scroll down for full profiles and July-2026 pricing details below.
Jarvis (getjarvis.eu), a screen-aware desktop AI assistant, is a Pieces alternative that acts across your live apps.
How we put this list together: Jarvis is our product — this site is getjarvis.eu — so treat the #1 spot as an editorial opinion with an obvious interest, and check the sourced facts yourself. Every price and tier name on this page was checked in July 2026 against the vendors' own public pricing pages (github.com/features/copilot/plans, tabnine.com/pricing, cursor.com/pricing), except Pieces itself, where pieces.app/pricing did not render full tier details via automated fetch and the figures below are instead sourced from docs.pieces.app/products/paid-plans, which lists the same $18.99/month figure as third-party trackers (ProPicked, ToolRadar) as of July 2026 — noted explicitly rather than presented as confirmed straight off the vendor's own pricing page. Continue.dev was considered for this list as a close comparison to Pieces on developer-focused, editor-native tooling, but it was dropped: Continue.dev was acquired by Cursor (Anysphere) in mid-June 2026, its recurring billing has been disabled, its GitHub repo is now read-only, and its cloud data is scheduled for deletion after July 15, 2026 — it no longer exists as a purchasable, actively-branded product, so it fails our 'still exists under current branding' check and was replaced with Cursor, its acquirer, in the pack. Each named limitation below is drawn from the same vendor pages, not from third-party reviews.
1. Jarvis — A screen-aware desktop assistant for Mac, Windows, and Linux. Press Cmd+/ on macOS or Ctrl+/ on Windows and a floating bar screenshots the active window, answers questions about it, and acts in your apps through 30+ OAuth connectors (Gmail, Slack, Notion, Linear, GitHub). Inference is routed across cloud models through Jarvis’s GDPR-aligned backend, with persistent memory across sessions. Pricing: Free: $0 — 40 requests/week. Pro: $16/month ($144/year billed annually). Unlimited: $32/month. Checked July 2026. Platforms: macOS (Apple Silicon and Intel), Windows 10+, Linux. Known limitation: Not a local-first, on-device code-snippet memory tool the way Pieces is — Jarvis is cloud-routed and general-purpose across apps rather than IDE/snippet-focused, and it has no offline mode. Pick Jarvis if: you want one assistant that acts across your whole desktop — email, chat, docs, browser — rather than a developer-only snippet and context tool. 2. Pieces (Pieces for Developers) — An on-device developer memory and context-capture tool: it saves code snippets, screenshots, and workflow context locally, with an AI copilot ('Live Context') that understands your work history. Local-first and privacy-respecting by default, with premium hosted models available on the paid tier. Pricing: Free Forever: $0 — local storage and limited AI. Pro: $18.99/month billed monthly, or $169.99/year ($14.17/month effective, roughly 20% savings) — adds unlimited hosted model usage and longer memory retention. Checked July 2026, sourced from docs.pieces.app/products/paid-plans since pieces.app/pricing did not render full tier details via automated fetch. Platforms: macOS, Windows, Linux — desktop app plus IDE and browser extensions. Known limitation: The Free tier caps AI model usage and cloud backup; full “unlimited” hosted model access (Claude 4 Sonnet/Opus, Gemini 2.5) and the longest, 9-month memory retention window require the paid Pro tier. Pick Pieces (Pieces for Developers) if: you specifically want a local-first, privacy-respecting memory layer for code snippets and developer context rather than a broad cross-app assistant. 3. GitHub Copilot — An in-editor AI pair programmer from GitHub/Microsoft: code completion, chat, agent mode, and cloud code review, integrated into VS Code, JetBrains, and other IDEs. Pricing: Free: $0/month — 2,000 completions/month, with Haiku 4.5 and GPT-5 mini. Pro: $10/user/month — unlimited completions plus $15 in monthly credits. Pro+: $39/user/month — $70 credits, premium models including Claude Opus. Max: $100/user/month — $200 credits. Checked July 2026. Platforms: VS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains IDEs, Neovim, GitHub.com, CLI. Known limitation: Cloud-based processing only — no on-device or offline mode, and higher-tier premium model access is metered by a monthly credit allowance rather than being truly unlimited. Pick GitHub Copilot if: you want the most widely-adopted in-editor coding assistant with tight GitHub/PR integration and don’t need local-only data handling. 4. Tabnine — A privacy-first AI coding assistant built for regulated and enterprise teams, with flexible deployment (SaaS, VPC, on-prem, air-gapped) and both code completion and agentic workflows. Pricing: Code Assistant Platform: $39/user/month (annual). Agentic Platform: $59/user/month (annual) — adds autonomous agents, MCP tool integration, and a Context Engine with unlimited codebase connections. Checked July 2026. Platforms: All major IDEs; SaaS, VPC, on-prem, or air-gapped deployment. Known limitation: No free tier at these published prices — Tabnine is priced and packaged for teams and enterprises needing compliance (GDPR, SOC 2, ISO 27001), not casual individual use. Pick Tabnine if: your org needs air-gapped or on-prem deployment with contractual zero-retention guarantees, well beyond a personal snippet memory tool. 5. Cursor — An AI-first code editor (a VS Code fork) built around an agentic 'Composer' workflow for multi-file edits, cloud agents, and codebase-wide changes. Acquired Continue.dev in June 2026 and wound that product down. Pricing: Hobby: free, limited Agent requests. Individual Pro: $20/month — extended agent limits. Pro+ and Ultra: $20/month base with 3x/20x Pro agent limits respectively, usage-billed beyond that. Teams Standard: $40/user/month; Teams Premium: $40/user/month base with 5x limits. Enterprise: custom. Checked July 2026. Platforms: macOS, Windows, Linux — standalone editor. Known limitation: Pro+, Ultra, and Premium tiers list the same base price as Pro but meter extra agent usage on top, so the effective cost scales with usage rather than staying flat. Pick Cursor if: you want a full agentic code editor rather than an extension layered on your existing IDE, and don’t need Pieces’ local snippet-memory model.
Why people switch: You want it to do more than developer memory; You want an assistant that acts, not just remembers; You are fine trading local-only for cross-app reach; You care about EU data residency.
Pick a competitor instead if: You want a local-first, privacy-respecting snippet memory — Jarvis is cloud-routed by design and has no offline mode. If you specifically want your code snippets and context stored on-device, Pieces (Free Forever, or Pro at $18.99/month) is built for exactly this. You want the most widely-adopted in-editor pair programmer — GitHub Copilot (Free with 2,000 completions/month, Pro from $10/user/month) is the deepest-integrated coding assistant across VS Code, JetBrains, and GitHub itself — Jarvis is not an editor extension. You need air-gapped or on-prem deployment with zero code retention — Tabnine is priced and packaged for regulated teams (from $39/user/month) with SaaS, VPC, on-prem, or air-gapped deployment options. Jarvis runs cloud-only on its GDPR-aligned backend. You want a full agentic code editor, not a floating bar — Cursor (free Hobby tier, Individual Pro from $20/month) is a standalone AI-first editor built for multi-file, codebase-wide agent edits. Jarvis works over any app but is not an IDE replacement.
What is the best Pieces alternative in 2026? Jarvis for a screen-aware assistant that acts across your whole desktop, not just your IDE; GitHub Copilot if you want the most widely-adopted in-editor pair programmer; Tabnine if your org needs air-gapped or on-prem deployment; Cursor if you want a full agentic code editor.
Is Pieces really local and offline? Per docs.pieces.app/products/paid-plans (checked July 2026), Pieces is local-first and offline-capable by default, with its Pro tier adding access to hosted premium models (Claude 4 Sonnet/Opus, Gemini 2.5) and a 9-month memory retention window. Jarvis takes the opposite approach — it is cloud-routed and never claims to work offline.
Is there a free Pieces alternative? Yes. Pieces itself has a Free Forever tier (local storage, limited AI). Jarvis has a free plan (40 requests/week), GitHub Copilot Free includes 2,000 completions/month, and Cursor’s Hobby tier is free with limited Agent requests. Tabnine publishes no free tier.
Does Jarvis replace Pieces for saving code snippets? Not directly. Jarvis keeps persistent memory across sessions, but it is not a dedicated, local-first snippet manager with Pieces’ Live Context history. If your core need is offline snippet and context capture, Pieces is the specialist; Jarvis is built to act across apps like Gmail, Slack, Notion, and Linear.
What happened to Continue.dev as a Pieces alternative? Continue.dev was acquired by Cursor (Anysphere) in mid-June 2026. Its recurring billing has been disabled, its GitHub repo is now read-only, and its cloud data is scheduled for deletion after July 15, 2026 — it no longer exists as a purchasable, actively-branded product, so we replaced it with Cursor, its acquirer, in this comparison.
Which Pieces alternatives work on Windows? Jarvis, Pieces, Tabnine, and Cursor all run on Windows, macOS, and Linux. GitHub Copilot works inside Windows-compatible editors (VS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains IDEs) rather than as a standalone desktop app.
| Capability | Jarvis | Pieces | GitHub Copilot | Tabnine | Cursor |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | On-demand screen-aware desktop assistant | On-device developer memory and context-capture tool | In-editor AI pair programmer | Privacy-first AI coding assistant for regulated teams | AI-first agentic code editor |
| Capture or AI model | Cloud models routed through Jarvis’s GDPR-aligned backend | Local-first/offline-capable by default; Pro adds Claude 4 Sonnet/Opus and Gemini 2.5 | Haiku 4.5 / GPT-5 mini on Free; premium models incl. Claude Opus on Pro+/Max | Proprietary + selectable models; zero code retention at every tier | Frontier model access varies by plan; Bugbot code review is usage-billed |
| Free tier | 40 requests/week | Free Forever — local storage, limited AI | 2,000 completions/month | None published | Hobby — limited Agent requests |
| Paid pricing (checked July 2026) | Pro $16/mo ($144/yr); Unlimited $32/mo | Pro $18.99/mo, or $169.99/yr (~$14.17/mo effective) | Pro $10/user/mo; Pro+ $39/user/mo; Max $100/user/mo | Code Assistant $39/user/mo; Agentic Platform $59/user/mo (annual) | Individual Pro $20/mo; Teams Standard $40/user/mo |
| Platforms | macOS (Apple Silicon + Intel), Windows 10+, Linux | macOS, Windows, Linux (desktop app + IDE/browser extensions) | VS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains, Neovim, GitHub.com, CLI | All major IDEs; SaaS, VPC, on-prem, or air-gapped | macOS, Windows, Linux (standalone editor) |
| App connectors / integrations | 30+ OAuth connectors (Gmail, Slack, Notion, Linear, GitHub) | IDE and browser extensions; no cross-app action connectors | GitHub, IDEs, PR/code-review workflow | IDE integrations; MCP tool integration on Agentic Platform | Codebase-wide agent workflows inside the editor |
| EU data residency stated | Yes — GDPR-aligned systems, AES-256-GCM token encryption | Not stated on public pages we reviewed | Not stated on public pages we reviewed | Not stated (offers VPC/on-prem/air-gapped deployment) | Not stated on public pages we reviewed |
Alternatives · Pieces alternatives · Last updated July 28, 2026