Tana alternative for cross-app assistance.

Or a shortcut over your apps?

Tana builds a second brain; Jarvis (getjarvis.eu) is a desktop AI assistant that acts as a shortcut over the apps you use. Jarvis has no offline mode: inference is cloud-based by design, so every request leaves the machine. Open its floating bar with Cmd+/ on Mac or Ctrl+/ on Windows to ask about the window in front of you. Its 30+ app connectors cover Notion, Gmail, Slack, Linear, and GitHub, and memory carries context between sessions. Jarvis keeps persistent memory across sessions and is free for 40 requests every week, then $16/month for Pro. Scroll down for full Tana, Notion, Obsidian, Reflect, and Craft profiles with July-2026 pricing.

Tana builds a second brain; Jarvis (getjarvis.eu) is a desktop AI assistant that acts as a shortcut over the apps you use.

How we put this list together: Jarvis is our product — this site is getjarvis.eu — so check the sourced facts yourself rather than taking our framing on trust. Every price and tier name on this page was checked in July 2026 against the vendors' own public pricing pages (tana.inc/pricing, notion.com/pricing, obsidian.md/pricing, reflect.app, craft.do/pricing). Where a vendor does not publish something — the AI model providers behind Tana's, Notion's, Reflect's, and Craft's AI features, or Reflect's seat/team pricing beyond its single $10/month plan — we say so rather than quoting a number. Craft's pricing page auto-localized to Romanian lei (RON) on both fetch attempts and showed a limited-time 'SUMMER26' 40%-off promo code; no reliable standing USD price was retrievable live, so Craft's paid pricing is described by tier shape and the regional figure actually shown, not asserted as a confirmed USD number. Each named limitation is drawn from the same vendor pages, not from third-party reviews. Tana, Notion, Obsidian, Reflect, and Craft are outliner, wiki, and notes apps built around supertags, blocks, local Markdown files, or documents. Jarvis is a screen-aware action assistant — a different category — and is included here as context, not as a competing outliner pick.

1. Jarvis — Not an outliner or notes app — a different category. Jarvis is an on-demand screen-aware desktop assistant: press Cmd+/ on macOS or Ctrl+/ on Windows and a floating bar screenshots the active window, answers, and acts through 30+ OAuth connectors (Gmail, Slack, Notion, Linear, GitHub, Microsoft 365). Inference runs on cloud frontier models (Anthropic, OpenAI, Google) routed through Jarvis's GDPR-aligned backend, with persistent memory across sessions. It's listed here as context, not because it competes with Tana's supertags, Notion's databases, Obsidian's local files, Reflect's daily notes, or Craft's documents on their own terms. Pricing: Free: $0 — 40 requests/week. Pro: $16/month ($144/year billed annually). Unlimited: $32/month. Checked July 2026. Platforms: macOS (Apple Silicon and Intel), Windows 10+, Linux. Known limitation: Cloud-only inference — Jarvis needs an internet connection and never claims to run offline — and it has no supertag, outliner, or structured-note model of its own; it acts across apps rather than storing a queryable knowledge base the way Tana does. Pick Jarvis if: you want one shortcut that makes AI screen-aware across email, docs, code, and dashboards — not a place to build a second brain — with EU data residency and a real free tier. 2. Tana — AI-native outliner built on supertags and nodes that turn freeform notes into a structured, queryable database, aimed at power users building a second brain or team knowledge base. Increasingly positioned around meeting AI: a botless meeting agent joins Zoom, Teams, and Google Meet calls on paid tiers. Pricing: Free: $0/month — 50 AI queries, 5 hosted meetings/month, 1 calendar connection. Pro (early-bird): $20/month, regular price $30/month — ~20x more AI than free, unlimited hosted meetings, meeting agent. Max (early-bird): $80/month, regular price $120/month — ~5x more AI than Pro, unlimited agents/skills. Business: custom, billed yearly, SAML SSO, audit logs, dedicated CSM. 30-day free trial, no card required; 60-day refund window on yearly plans. Checked July 2026. Platforms: Web app, macOS, Windows, iOS, Android (browser-based core). Known limitation: Tana is a workspace you have to live inside — its supertags/nodes/AI-native outlining are built for structured knowledge work inside Tana itself, not for acting across other apps on your screen, and the underlying AI model behind its 'queries' allowance is not disclosed on the pricing page. Pick Tana if: you want to build a queryable, supertag-structured second brain and are willing to do your organizing work inside one dedicated outliner. 3. Notion — All-in-one docs, wiki, and database workspace — the default 'do everything' PKM/collaboration tool most Tana switchers already have installed, now bundling Notion AI into Business and Enterprise, with a limited trial on Free and Plus. Pricing: Free: €0/member/month. Plus: €9.50/member/month. Business: €19.50/member/month (marked "Recommended"). Enterprise: custom, sales-quoted. Annual billing saves up to 20%. Checked July 2026. Platforms: Web, macOS, Windows, iOS, Android. Known limitation: Notion AI is bundled into Business and Enterprise (Free and Plus get a limited trial) with the underlying model undisclosed on the pricing page, and its flexible-block editor and generic databases are far weaker than Tana's supertag/query system for enforcing structured, queryable schemas across notes. Pick Notion if: you want one workspace for docs, wikis, and lightweight databases and don't need Tana-grade structured querying. 4. Obsidian — Local-first Markdown notes app with a linked-notes graph, built around a large plugin ecosystem rather than a hosted AI-native database. Pricing: Core app: free, no sign-up, no restrictions for personal use. Sync add-on: $4/user/month billed annually ($5/month billed monthly). Publish add-on: $8/site/month billed annually ($10/month billed monthly). Catalyst one-time license: $25. Commercial license: $50/user/year (optional — commercial use is not required to pay). Checked July 2026. Platforms: macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android. Known limitation: No built-in AI querying or supertag-style structured schema — organization depends entirely on manual linking/tagging or third-party community plugins, unlike Tana's native AI-assisted structuring. Pick Obsidian if: you want full local-file ownership and plugin flexibility and don't need Tana's built-in AI or hosted sync. 5. Reflect — Minimalist daily-notes and backlinks app focused on fast networked note-taking rather than structured databases. Pricing: Single plan: $10/month, billed annually. 14-day free trial. Checked July 2026. Platforms: Web, iOS; browser clipper for Chrome/Safari. Known limitation: One flat plan with no free tier and no supertag/database layer — it's built for daily-notes journaling and backlinks, not for Tana-style structured, queryable knowledge bases — and seat/team pricing beyond the single $10/month plan is not published. Pick Reflect if: you want a simple, fast daily-notes habit with backlinks and don't need Tana's structured querying. 6. Craft — Design-forward document and notes app popular with Apple-ecosystem users who want a polished writing surface over deep structured querying. Pricing: Free: 1,500 block limit, 1GB storage, 7-day version history. Plus: the vendor's pricing page auto-localized to Romanian lei on the fetches we ran (showing RON 15.7/month, RON 26.2 billed yearly) rather than a USD figure, so treat this as a regionally displayed price, not a confirmed USD number — includes unlimited content/storage, 30-day version history, 50 AI credits/month. Family: RON 28.2/month, bundles 2-6 Plus accounts. Team: RON 160/month for up to 10 Plus accounts. A 'SUMMER26' promo code was showing 40% off Plus/Family at fetch time — promotional, not a standing price. Checked July 2026. Platforms: macOS, iOS, Windows, web. Known limitation: We could not verify a standing USD list price for Plus, Family, or Team — the vendor's pricing page renders regionally and showed RON with an active promo code on both checks — and it's optimized for document writing and visual polish, not supertag-based structured databases or cross-note queries the way Tana is. Pick Craft if: you want a beautiful, Apple-native writing tool and don't need Tana's structured query layer.

Why people switch: This page is a different category by design; You want an assistant that acts, not a place that stores; You want screen-aware on demand, not another workspace to maintain; You care about EU data residency.

Pick a competitor instead if: You want a structured, queryable second brain — That is Tana's whole product — supertags, nodes, and live queries. Jarvis has no supertag or database model at all; it keeps persistent memory for its own use, not a browsable knowledge base. You need team collaboration on docs and wikis — Notion is built for shared team workspaces with databases, permissions, and a bundled AI layer. Jarvis is a personal, single-user floating bar, not a team wiki. You want full local-file ownership with zero forced cloud — Obsidian keeps everything as plain Markdown files on disk with a free core app and a large plugin ecosystem. Jarvis is cloud-inference by design and never claims to run offline. You want simple daily-notes journaling or a polished writing surface — Reflect's flat $10/month plan is built for fast daily notes and backlinks. Craft is the pick if visual polish on Apple devices matters more than structured querying. Neither reads your screen or acts across your other apps the way Jarvis does — but neither claims to.

What is the best Tana alternative in 2026? Among true outliner/notes apps: Notion if your team needs a shared docs/wiki workspace, Obsidian if you want free local-first Markdown ownership, Reflect if you want simple daily-notes journaling, and Craft if you want a polished Apple-native writing surface. Jarvis isn't a note-taking alternative at all — it's a screen-aware action assistant, only worth a look if what you actually need is different from a structured second brain.

Is Jarvis a good alternative to Tana? Only if what you actually want is a screen-aware action assistant rather than an outliner. If you want Tana's supertag-structured knowledge base, Tana, Notion, or Obsidian are the honest picks — Jarvis has no supertag or database model at all.

Does Jarvis have supertags or structured queries like Tana? No. Tana's supertags and nodes with live queries are its signature strength, and Jarvis does not replicate it. Jarvis uses persistent, user-controlled memory instead, and can act inside connected apps like Notion when you need a structured knowledge home.

Is there a free Tana alternative? Yes — Jarvis (40 requests/week), Tana itself (50 AI queries and 5 hosted meetings/month), Notion (free workspace), and Obsidian (core app free forever) all have free tiers. Reflect has no free tier — it's a single $10/month plan. Craft's free tier caps out at a 1,500-block limit.

How much does Craft cost? Craft's pricing page auto-localized to Romanian lei on both checks we ran in July 2026, showing Plus at roughly RON 15.7/month (RON 26.2 billed yearly) alongside a limited-time 40%-off promo code — we could not retrieve a confirmed standing USD price live, so treat that figure as regional, not universal. Check craft.do/pricing directly for current numbers in your region.

Which Tana alternatives work offline or locally? Obsidian is the clearest local-first option — plain Markdown files on disk, with a free core app that needs no account. Jarvis is the opposite: cloud-only inference on a GDPR-aligned backend, with no offline mode.

Jarvis vs Tana vs Notion vs Obsidian vs Reflect vs Craft — feature comparison
CapabilityJarvisTanaNotionObsidianReflectCraft
What it isOn-demand screen-aware desktop assistantAI-native outliner (supertags and nodes)Docs/wiki/database workspaceLocal-first Markdown notes appDaily-notes and backlinks appDesign-forward documents and notes app
AI modelCloud frontier models (Anthropic, OpenAI, Google) via Jarvis's GDPR-aligned backendMetered 'AI queries/credits'; model not disclosedNotion AI add-on; model not disclosedNo native AI — depends on community pluginsNot disclosed publiclyMetered 'AI credits'; model not disclosed
Free tier40 requests/week50 AI queries/month, 5 hosted meetings/monthFree workspace at €0/member/monthCore app free foreverNone — single paid plan1,500 block limit, 1GB storage
Paid pricing (checked July 2026)Pro $16/mo ($144/yr); Unlimited $32/moPro (early-bird) $20/mo, regular $30/mo; Max (early-bird) $80/mo, regular $120/moPlus €9.50/member/mo; Business €19.50/member/moSync $4-5/mo; Publish $8-10/mo; Commercial license $50/user/yr$10/mo, billed annuallyPlus shown as RON 15.7/mo regionally — no confirmed USD price; Family RON 28.2/mo; Team RON 160/mo
PlatformsmacOS (Apple Silicon + Intel), Windows 10+, LinuxWeb, macOS, Windows, iOS, AndroidWeb, macOS, Windows, iOS, AndroidmacOS, Windows, Linux, iOS, AndroidWeb, iOS; Chrome/Safari clippermacOS, iOS, Windows, web
Structured / queryable schemaNo — Jarvis uses persistent memory and app connectors insteadYes, core strength via supertags and nodesYes, via databases and propertiesNo native schema; plugin-dependentNo — flat daily notes with backlinksNo — freeform documents
EU data residency statedYes — GDPR-aligned backendNot stated on public pages we reviewedNot stated on public pages we reviewedNot stated on public pages we reviewedNot stated on public pages we reviewedNot stated on public pages we reviewed

Alternatives · Tana alternatives · Last updated July 29, 2026